Recording not where it's supposed to be!

Jenny73

Hi all,

Ok, I have just had the strangest surreal recording experience with Logic!

I've been using it (Express 8) for a few years now and I've never had it before.

I was recording my bass player and listened with him whilst recording.
When we came to hear it back, the bass line was a fraction of a second behind the rest of the recording...
I tried about 6 different songs and we had the same result every time!

I also tried different inputs on my preamp, made sure there were no effects on etc. etc.

Is this a problem with Logic or something I should be checking in my settings on the Mac itself?

Thanks folks :)

Have you tried using low latency mode?

View attachment 79506

Hmm, never used that, no, but I will certainly try next time.

I've recorded thousands of takes and last week this was the first time this happened to me...
It's really odd!

Trying to play Tetris at the moment and move it to the right bit but as it's the vocal track, can't help feeling there's something missing

Many DAWs have a record offset or record latency setting (not the same as input monitoring latency). Usually you can let the software automatically detect the offset or choose to manually set the offset. Perhaps that setting got changed somehow. Have you changed your interface hardware recently?

Many DAWs have a record offset or record latency setting (not the same as input monitoring latency). Usually you can let the software automatically detect the offset or choose to manually set the offset. Perhaps that setting got changed somehow. Have you changed your interface hardware recently?

Haven't changed a thing - at least not knowingly.

Thanks for the info in any case!

Are you using any plugins during the tracking process (e.g. compressor, eq, etc.)? If so, you will want to go to Preferences --> Audio --> General and ensure that the Plugins are tracking in low-latency mode and that their offset is 5ms or less (see photo).