Audio Interface for Logic

folkrock75

Please help me Choose my Audio Interface. (Sorry)

As a recent Garageband convert to Logic I am now looking for a decent audio interface. I have a new iMac and have been currently using a gifted "Belkin Tunestudio" for my conversion needs. I sold my old M-audio Fast Track USB, finding it to be sterile, cold, and rather cheap. I am not looking in the $200-500 range. Details below:

• I record in an untreated bedroom. Basically demos, not for sale, as a recording enthusiast / hobbyist. Trading with friends, etc. Vocals, acoustic guitar, quieter electric (neighbors). Acoustic treatment is probably not going to happen.
  • I have scoured many many reviews (tweakheadz.com guide, musicians friend reviews, this board, etc), and am still rather confused.
  • I am a designer and major Apple fan. Functionality design plays a role in my decision making
  • I almost purchased a Apogee Duet, but I am not happy with the "tangle" break out, and firewire 400 status
  • Probably looking for an AD converter alone, not a control surface or analog mixer combo. 4 tracks would more than cover my needs (2 really, but thinking ahead)
  • My mac has firewire 800, which is ultimately backwards compatible, but confuses the situation...are firewire 800 converters going to show up this year?

1. yes i'm pretty sure there are converters. you can get adapters to go from fw800-400. don't quote me, google it.
2. i was on the tweakheadz.com website and he really suggests the presonus firebox as a great starter entry box. I almost bought it
-instead i bought a used edirol fa-101. works great for me.

- a step up from the edirol would be anything by motu. I would seriously suggest you check them out. Tweak himself says they work will with macs ("rememeber: mmmmmac and mmmmmotu)

i'd get the ultralite, or the motu 8pre.

good luck

MOTU 8 pre