Would someone help me set up my interface with Reaper? I'm an old newbie...

DM60 found my problem and corrected it! He's a top-notch guy, spending 2 hours working with my pc to get everything set properly and would not accept anything for his time, effort and expense...there are a few good guys left in this world, and he's one of them. Thank you. Thanks also, to jiff and the rest of you good folks who provided much good advice. It was a fairly complex "fix", and I don't feel so bad for not being able to do it, haha. Thanks again to everyone; have a great weekend!

So somebody should tell us what it was??
It's good to put it on here so everybody can see what to do in future!
I'm really glad you got it fixed man!
I think it's time to make some music!:thumbs up:

I'll let Foxwaves describe the fix procedures. I am not sure if it is Reaper, Win8 or IO2, but here is the issue. The Interface get's locked by Win8 audio system. So, in order to get it to work get it to work, you have to go to task manager, services, disable (not sure what the service is, Foxwaves took note) audio services, then bring up Reaper, configure you ASIO4All and it works. When done recording, if you want to hear sounds again, just reverse and enable windows audio.

Win8 seems to run exclusive the audio and the ASIO4All can't seem to get control of it. I am sure if a device has a native ASIO driver that would not be an issue.

Mmmm,
What is it then?,, it would be worthwhile getting a batch file made up so it can be turned on/ off?

Mmmm,
What is it then?,, it would be worthwhile getting a batch file made up so it can be turned on/ off?

I think the manual way of turning it on or off is pretty easy.

But, ASIO4ALL folks probably could figure out a way when their driver comes on, it turns off the Window's audio services. There could be even an easier fix, maybe in Reaper to create a launch script that turns the service off on open and back on when exiting. Is that what you mean?