Stock plug ins

RFR

Been working with reaper for a few days. Easier than I expected considering I'm coming from all analog and I'm a complete newbie to daws.

Importing analog tape tracks has been a breeze, and I'm playing around with mixing.

The stock reverbs however seem to suck, and there are limited choices. You got only two. ReverVerbate and ReaVerb. Both are pretty lame.

What's up with that? What do you guys use for reverbs?

With ReaVerb, search around for impulse files to use with it. It can be a good sounding reverb, although it's a resource hog that's never been 100% agreeable with my systems. I have trouble with it when I try to record-arm a track while ReaVerb is active. It's probably a sample rate mismatch between my native project sample rate and that of the impulse samples themselves.

I have several dozen impulse files if you're interested.

Reactions: RFR
Impulse files are awesome. Some nerd goes into an actual acoustical space (like a concert hall, a church sanctuary or a famed studio live room), brings some reference mics, a signal generator and a speaker, and via black magic takes a snapshot of that space's Reverb characteristics. They make a WAV file to capture that magic info, and you can load it into a convolution Reverb such as ReaVerb.

There are also impulse files that represent famous hardware units like plate reverbs, and specific guitar cabinets. Cool stuff. Worth spending an evening dicking around with it.

With ReaVerb, search around for impulse files to use with it. It can be a good sounding reverb, although it's a resource hog that's never been 100% agreeable with my systems. I have trouble with it when I try to record-arm a track while ReaVerb is active. It's probably a sample rate mismatch between my native project sample rate and that of the impulse samples themselves.

I have several dozen impulse files if you're interested.
Have you tried ticking the LL and ZL buttons? They can make a big difference.