Routing pins: What do you do with them?

Robus

I've been using Reaper now for a couple of years. I have never had occasion to use the routing pins. Granted, what I do in Reaper is fairly simple.

Can anyone suggest a practical application for these pins? What can you do more easily using them than not?

Never used them either! Complex routing, I guess. I just looked at a couple of places in the manual where its demoed. Not even sure what some of them are doing! Side-chaining FX, mostly, and slaving track parameters together.

I probably take 2-3X as much time as needed when I'm mixing because I don't use the easy shortcuts (they're only easy if you know what/where they are!) I should re-read the manual some day . :rolleyes:

I've looked at them and puzzled on them awhile then gave up.

Was hoping someone would come along and answer the OP's question.

Side-chain compression, especially with multiple compression sources. I do it fairly often, usually to get the rhythm guitars to duck both vocals and the kick. e.g.:

route the main vocal bus to channels 3 & 4 of the rhythm guitar bus
route the kick channel to 5&6 of the RG bus
Put a compressor on the RG bus.
Set it's detector input to Auxillary input L+R.
Tune it.
Put a second compressor on the RG bus.
Set it's detector to Auxillary input L+R.
open the pin interface ("4 in 2 out")
Toggle off the current aux L+R and move them down into 5&6
Tune the compressor.

I use them for routing things. ;)

But seriously, I use the things all the time for all kinds of reasons to the point where it's difficult to think of a specific example. I guess in my case it's mostly for parallel processing and various types of what you might call side-chaining.