REAPER update to 5.0

R

RAMI

I just installed the new version. It's all cool. I like the way it opens, nice graphic.

Problem is, the appearance went to a default theme. I changed it back to the theme I'm used to, but now I can't find the panel where you can change the colors of the background, the items, etc.....

There was a detailed window where you can do all that. I thought I used to get there by going Preferences>Appearance. But it doesn't any more. So, either I forgot how to get to that edit window, or they took it away. My background is white, I want it to be grey, for example.

I'm about to install it myself as well. I remember your Rainbow Brite screenshots :D

I can't remember if I'm using a custom skin or not...I remember installing one at some point but I don't think that mine looks any different than default at this point.

I'll see how this goes...

I too downloaded R5.0. For the first time, I am not that ecstatic about Reaper. The default 5.0 theme is interesting, but not as functionally effective as the standard 4.0 theme. For example, on the track control, the level control has become a knob instead of a slider. It took me a while to find it, because my brain was saying knob = pan, where is the slider?

Fortunately, you can switch to the older GUI, which is really well designed.

I couldn't find the place to customize the appearance either.

I also noticed some weird things happening when I was trying to edit midi control changes (specifically the mod wheel values).

OK, so it's not just me. I have a feeling 5.1 is coming out real soon. :D

Tad, it kept my colors for the tracks. But the backgrounds, items, borders of items, etc....all changed, and they seem to have forgotten to include the appearance control panel.

Gecko, you know that if you hit OPTIONS, almost all the way down you'll see "THEMES", right? You can go back to whatever look you had, except for the thing we're talking about.