Reaper Sound Not Working

calioranged

Hi everyone I'm completely new to DAW's and home recording, and I've been trying to get started for a few days but I've had a catalogue of problems- first with Sonar (which I deleted because of the hassle) and now with Reaper.

Yesterday, after downloaded Reaper, I was trying to play with my Alesis-Q49 midi keyboard and I just could not get any sound. Everything was connected properly, the correct input selected, the notes I was playing were even being recognised when I armed the track but just not outputing any sound. There is my first problem.

Then today I load up Reaper and not only can I not get sound through the midi keyboard but I'm getting absolutely no sound from anything at all. There is my second problem.

The whole process has been extremely frustrating I just want to get everything set up correctly and start learning as soon as possible. Help would be MASSIVELY appreciated!

Ok, first tell us more about what you have hooked up. I assume the Alesis is connected via USB?

Do you have an audio interface? If not, and you're only doing MIDI from the Alesis, that's ok. How are you monitoring the audio - your computer's speakers, or headphones?
You need to select the audio output device in Reaper to correspond to whatever you are using to monitor.
Note that the Alesis is only supplying MIDI data to Reaper, to hear anything you will need to use a VSTi (virtual instrument) plug-in on that track. To hear it while recording/playing the Alesis, you will need to arm the monitor track option on that track. Reember to turn it off when you are done recording.
Hope this gets you started!

Mike B gave a solution to your first problem. You've actually done everything right, but as he said, the Alesis is only supplying data, not sound. You need to load a virtual instrument to get a sound happening.

For your second problem, you need to explain what you've done to try and get sound going.