Reaper learning curve?

joey2000

I"m reading very mixed opinions on how hard this thing is to get up to speed on. I'm a beginner and frankly not interested in something that will take a long time in that regard, and what I want to do won't be anything fancy anyway (just me and a keyboard and not into a lot of effects/etc...just a little enhancement to improve as required).

Those who have used, esp if you've used others, how hard do you feel it is/isn't for a beginner to pick up?

I don't think its any harder than any other full-featured DAW. If you're not up to the technical challenge of a full-feature DAW, try Audacity or use a stand-alone recorder like a Zoom or Tascam.

I read most of the reaper manual before diving into the DAW itself and was up and running in no time at all. There's plenty of stuff that can be skipped in the manual when starting out, like MIDI implemetation and advanced routing.

It works perfectly fine and easy as a "tape recorder" and "mixing board" without having to worry about any of the other stuff. There's all kinds of depth and power waiting there for when your attention span and ambitions combine to make you try some more advanced stuff, but it's really pretty simple to just get up and going.

It comes with some great - if not particularly pretty - effects, but not a lot (like almost nothing) in the way of actual instruments. Those are everywhere and some really good ones are completely free, and Reaper will host most of them just fine.

I'm a beginner and frankly not interested in something that will take a long time in that regard,

Driving car, baking a cake, playing golf . . . every human activity has a learning curve, and proficiency requires practice, skill and experience. You cannot avoid it, so you need to accept that you will have to put effort into it.

If you are "not interested in something that will take a long time", just get a Zoom, hit record and you are done.