Newbie. Mixer / Meters Red line?

RSullivan

I am new to Reaper and DAW recording. A total newbie!

I have waited four days now to be authorized to post questions on the Reaper (Cockos) site and still am waiting.

I was going to post this in the 'newbie' Reaper forum but have become extremely impatient.

So:
I have read the entire manual, plowed through the forums, viewed dozens of YouTube videos and still have not found the answer.

I have a track using Steven Slate Drums. When i play the track:
1.) The channel strip shows the left and right meters.
2.) The meters are not clipping.
3.) To the right of the two meters (left and right) there is thin red meter type thing that also is not clipping (I think
as it does not get close to 0 Db).
4.) If a send the drum track to a reverb track the red line / meter thing also appear there.
5.) I have plinked a few bars of MIDI into another track with WaveStation on it and this track does not have the thin red meter thing when playing.

Ok, feel free to laugh out loud now!

QUESTIONs:
1.) What is the thin, red, meter to the left of the Right/Left meter on the channel strip?
2.) What is it telling me?

Thanks.

Pretty sure that's the MIDI activity on the track. If the VSTi is not allowing the MIDI to pass through it or if Reaper's option to pass the MIDI whether the instrument wants to or not is enabled, AND you haven't specifically set the send to exclude MIDI, then it'll go through to your Reverb track also. Don't know why you're not seeing it on your other track. Maybe that instrument does "eat" the MIDI?

You could try to post a picture or video, but I'm pretty sure that's it.

Thanks, so far you are looking like a genius to me!

Track 1: SSD4
This track is still showing the red line.
Routing:
Sends to Track 2
I set the Send to track 2 MIDI:None
Track 2: Reverb.
Sure enough the red line on the meter does not appear any longer.

So you are correct that it is related to the MIDI events on Track 1 (SSD4)