New to Reaper: backing tracks sound "scratchy", how to view guitar effects LIVE

boss281

New to Reaper: backing tracks sound "scratchy", how to view guitar effects LIVE

Note: I am NEW to recording, less than one month in.

Q1: I bought a PreSonus AudioBox iOne that came bundled with Studio One Artist. While I could record successfully, I found it a bit unintuitive and struggled to do what I thought should be many basic tasks. It was recommended I try Reaper.

It installed fine and appears to have automatically detected EZDrummer 2 drum simulator, Guitar Rig 5, and Wave Audio GTR3 guitar effects package (all 3 are demos right now). I can drag in backing tracks.

I've noticed that MP3 backing tracks that sound really good outside the program using the Windows 7 media player going through a Dell XPS laptop and Logitech speakers sounds really nice, but inside reaper sounds "boomy" and "scratchy", and as if reverb were added. It's almost nauseating to listen to through headphones (Sony MDR 7506) and Mackie CR Series CR3 monitors.

I realize the signal chain through the laptop's soundcard and through the USB-based audio interface/Reaper are different, but should it really sound that bad?

Q2: When I add a track to record my guitar through the AI, I get a raw, weak, dry signal. I GET it. There appears to be TWO places to add various FX: Next to the Mute/Solo buttons called FX Enabled, and a second one inside the line input dropdown control. What is the difference between the two?

Q3: Regarding effects, I've searched on why by default you can hear the effects you choose, but they will record if you play. Ok, weird but fine. But what if I want to hear the effects prior to recording, or better yet, hear the actual effects applied to the guitar track while I play and record the instrument. What is the secret to this.