How Do I Convert Drums to MIDI in Reaper?

gvdv

Hi,
I just bought some drum .WAV files ('Ringo Goes Indie'), and would like to convert them to MIDI for editing.

I am not, at this point, looking to replace the existing drums with other drums.

I understand that Reatune can convert audio to MIDI, but from reading another thread here on the Reaper forums, which says that Reatunes is not velocity sensitive, do not think that this would work for me.

I have also watched the following video (and some others) in which the procedure is described for converting WAV files to MIDI in Reaper, but when I try this, there is no MIDI file generated on the empty (the 'destination' for the generated MIDI file) track in Reaper.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nqbq8_SAqAI

I am pretty new to this - in fact, it only occurred to me yesterday to try to convert my .WAV files to MIDI - so I would appreciate any help that I can get, and please do not assume that I know anything about how to do this!

Thanks in advance for any replies.

I'm not sure why you want to try to convert this to MIDI for editing. Like, what does that actually mean. Once you get the thing to spit out MIDI notes, what are those notes supposed to trigger? You said you don't want to replace the sounds. Do you actually intend to split each individual bit out of the audio to a sample, map it across the keyboard and play them back from the MIDI track? I'm pretty sure there are user scripts that will do that for you, but you're not going to get what you need out of ReaTune. And unless you plan to actually play it from a keyboard or other controller, it's more messing around than it's worth. Just edit the audio items themselves and be done with it.