Will Adobe Audition cs6 work with Tascam US 1800?

jaydog express

Hey folks,

I'm a newbie here and a home recordist used to working simple band projects with Adobe Audition and Tascam US 122.

I recently bought a Tascam US 1800 so I could finally have 8 XLR simultaneous inputs through USB.

However it came with this Cubase LE5 that seems way complicated for me. Adobe has been very kind to me for 6 years.

Do any of you wisemen know if I can use an Adobe Audition just as effectively? Are they compatible?

Any experiences or advice would be severly appreciated.

Thank you, JAYDOG, newbie here on the forum.

I've not tried the US1800 specifically but I've used other Tascam interfaces/drivers with both Cool Edit and Audition with no problems and good reliability. Audition can use pretty well any interface with conventional MME or ASIO drivers. (I only hedge with "pretty well" because I haven't personally tried every interface! However, I've yet to find one that doesn't work.)

As an aside, I upgraded from AA3.01 to AA CS6 after trying it for a few days. This latest version is great and highly recommended (at least by me!).

THANK you BOBBSY,

I am relieved that my familiar ADOBE works with this unit. I have test recorded an old beatle tune on guitar and vocal. the input busses are much easier than cubase. HOWEVER, I have another problem now. As I playback, it rolls, sounds good, then at random it starts to 'hiccup' or stutter with a clicking sound, then continues to play. Have you any idea what may cause such a disturbance?

Well, the good news is that, from Adobe at least, the trial versions are identical to the ones you buy, except for the time limitation.

That sort of clicking/stuttering is generally one of two causes: either your computer processor running out of capacity or your hard drive not being capable of enough throughput--and the processor side is the most likely issue.

A few things to do: