dBVU vs. dBFS

stupid stuff

ok so first off i dont know what the heck im doing!! i haev a line 6 toneport ux2 or soemthing like that and i've been trying to lay down some tracks with cool edit and when i select my driver it dont work :mad: ...i know its powered through the usb but my cousin had it working just on that with sonar ..but i dont understand why it wont work like that on cool edit ..any suggestions?

wes
PS ....im VERY new to this and am horrable with computers to begin with

There is still the potential for ambiguity with RMS amplitude measurements, since some use the RMS value of a full-scale square wave for 0 dBFS (which corresponds with a 0 dBFS peak amplitude measurement), and some use a full-scale sine wave (which corresponds with typical analog RMS measurements).

* In the case of a FS square wave = 0 dBFS, all possible dBFS measurements are negative numbers. A sine wave of larger amplitude than −3 dBFS would be clipping by this convention.
* In the case of a FS sine wave = 0 dBFS, a FS square wave would be at +3 dBFS.

The measured dynamic range of a digital system is the ratio of the full scale signal level to the RMS noise floor. The theoretical dynamic range of a digital system is often derived by the equation

\mathrm{DR} = \mathrm{SNR} = 20 \log_{10}(2^n) \approx 6.02 \cdot n

This comes from a model of quantization noise equivalent to a uniform random fluctuation between two neighboring quantization levels. For instance, 16-bit audio has a quoted dynamic range of 96.33 dB.

To make an equivalent measurement of a system's noise floor, the full-scale square wave convention is used. A signal which fluctuates randomly between two neighboring quantization levels will measure at −96.33 dBFS with this convention. :cool: :p