Background Noise

Leachim

Hi

I am new to this one - I have a 15 min recording of Bird Song recorded in the 70's.
There is hum and noise in the background - would it be possible to post a short wav file here for someone to listen what I am meaning ? :confused:

Thanks

Mike

If you are using Cool Edit Pro or Adobe Audition, record your bird songs into the computer, then call up your recording in the Edit View. Find a stretch that has no sound other than the hum/noise, highlight it, and go to Effects/Noise Reduction/Noise Reduction and click the button that says "Load Profile From Selection". After that processes, hit Control/A to select the entire length of the recording, then Effects/Noise Reduction/Noise Reduction and hit Enter or click on OK. Some experimentation may be needed to get rid of the noise without losing the bird song components. For more on the subject, check out the manual: http://www.alfors.com/Ruzne/cep2man.pdf

Leachim said:
would it be possible to post a short wav file here for someone to listen what I am meaning ? :confused:
Yeah, what LP said.

and if you're looking for a place to post short wave files online, you can do it in the COLLABORATIONS forum here: www.recordingproject.com .

Be careful with the noise/hiss reduction feature of CEP...it can totally ruin a recording, but used properly, it can work miracles.

>Be careful with the noise/hiss reduction feature of CEP...it can totally ruin a recording, but used properly, it can work miracles<

OK, Thanks

I did what LP said, and it made a difference.

I have posted the old file with noise to

http://www.a5star.co.uk/background.wav

You should be able to "Save As" to download it.

Am curious as to the best settings though.....

Cheers

Mike

Hey, sounds good - you must post me the settings

However it does sound a "little" mechanical - perhaps a -small- amount of background ought to be there to give an impression of ambience ??

Well done

Mike