Undoing Slider automation

Khompewtur

*Retired*
Hey there folks,

I'm relatively new to using cakewalk and I have a technical question if anyone might be able to help.

I'm trying to mix this song I have and I keep noticing that the sliders for the tracks keep returning to certain fixed positions every time I stop playback and restart it.

I figure I must have activated some sort of record automation of the mixer controls, but I have no idea how to turn it off. Also I have created volume envelopes within the original tracks that I'd like to keep.

Is there any way I can turn off the memorized positions on the sliders so I can remix, while still keeping the volume envelopes I set within individual tracks?

Also, what activates this "memorized" slider position?

What program are you using? PA9 or Sonar?

There are a couple of buttons in the Console View that are associated with automation. One is the snapshot button and the other is the record automation button.

If I remember correctly, in PA9 when you record automation it inserts another track in your project (I think it is labeled Console Automation or something similar). I'm pretty sure if you just delete this track, your automation should go away. Since your envelopes are on the audio track itself, they should be OK. (Try it, and if it doesn't work, exit without resaving the project.)

It seems you have found the magic of envelopes. As such, don't ever open Console View again. :)

hahaha true dat

I'm using Pro Audio 9.

Yes it's true, i've found i have a helluva lot more control with setting up the envelopes than just the control panel.

Does the envelope just control what percentage of output set on the control panel is used?