Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Routing External FX Unit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Nicer than Gary
    Posts
    957
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    6961689

    Routing External FX Unit

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I just got a ART Effects Network unit and trying to figure out how to route it using my Tascam US-1800 and Sonar Platinum.

    I'd like to do the same with a external compressor.

    Thanks in advance.
    Wow, now I feel really stupid. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    7,071
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 345 Times in 326 Posts
    Rep Power
    14539785
    Physically, routing is as simple as connecting line outputs of the Tascam to inputs of the ART, and outputs of the ART to line inputs of the Tascam.

    As far as the software, the way things are named may vary, but you route send faders from channels (if using it in parallel like a reverb) or channel outputs (if using it in series like eq or compression*) to hardware outputs. For compression use you'll typically want to use the return channel fader (post compression) if there's automation involved.

    Route hardware inputs to your master fader or a DAW channel of some sort. It depends on whether you want to render (/bounce/export) the final mix in real time or if you want to render it offline (as fast as the computer can do it).

    To be able to render mixes offline you'll need to record the output of the effects unit to a new track in real time. But if you change things you may need to go back and re-record it in real time.

    If you are okay with rendering in real time then you can just route the hardware input to the main mix bus or a submix bus.

    *I think some DAWs have built in hardware effects loops that let you do this routing in a more direct way with a plugin. I don't know about Sonar.

    Either way, hardware effects can add time to the process, and they typically don't sound as good as software equivalents. That plus the lack of undo and recall make hardware effects suck for use with DAWs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Nicer than Gary
    Posts
    957
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    6961689
    This is mostly an expierment. I kind of figured it out using aux tracks, though I was hoping to route it to an aux bus and use sends on individual tracks.

    I'm thinking about selling all my outboard gear and upgrade my interface.
    Wow, now I feel really stupid. Thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Routing external fx
    By slavkopavic in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-23-2011, 06:58
  2. Routing for External Speakers from FireStudio?
    By gvdv in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2008, 19:06
  3. external reverb unit
    By sathyan in forum Keyboards and Sound Modules
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-19-2004, 13:09
  4. Routing external Pre's through Mixer ???
    By Easto in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-09-2004, 21:25
  5. Help Routing to External Effects?
    By Nightbanana in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2002, 06:30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •