Cubase or Sonar?

paw1

Gonna get myself a new DAW. After looking at different ones I've decided to go with either Sonar X2 Producer or Cubase 7. I come from ProTools LE 7.3.

I am a student, so I can get Cubase for about half the price, so that's nice. But I've heard that it has a really steep learning curve, and can be a bit frustrating to work with if you don't know it well. Also, the plugins that come with it isn't as good as the ones in Sonar, supposedly. I think that Sonar comes with more instrument plugins as well, which is nice!

What do you think? Why do you like one over the other? Would you agree with the things statements above?

Hope some Cubase fans will pop in here as well so I can get a balanced view:)

Best regards,

-paw

Don't know anything about Cubase 7 but I have one of the lower lines of Cubase and honestly, I can't stand it. I have a hard time understanding it and have NO luck getting it to work. I use Producer 7 and amd used to it so Sonar gets MY vote.

I was in your situation back in 2007, agonising over whether to buy for my first DAW, either Cubase or Sonar
After a lot of internet browsing I settled on Sonar, and I'm glad I did
What really tipped my decision was the forums - the Cakewalk forum is full of helpful, knowledgeable people
The Cubase forum on the other hand seems to be a closed shop for closed minds
Just telling it like it is......

Sonar has a steep learning curve too, partly because there are so many editing and FX functions available.

If you are on a budget you might want to look into Reaper. SonarX2 is pretty spendy for the full "Producer" version if you are a first time Cakewalk customer. It has extensive functionality without any of the add-on stuff like compressors or concrete limiters, but the add-ons sound great too.

But yeah, you are posting in the Sonar Forum so people are gonna say "buy Sonar".

I can say in my experience Sonar plays very well with other VST's as long as you put them where Sonar can find them.