Does Alesis Gear have More Problems than Other Brands?

ibleedburgundy

The Anti-Lambo
I have limited experience with Alesis (I had an ADAT and played a DM6 this weekend) but it hasn't been good. The ADAT functioned properly for about 2 weeks. I sent it back to them twice for repairs. Each time they sent it back to me without fixing it. I ultimately used it purely for the A/D conversion hooked up through light pipe to a Digi 002 - it was fine in this capacity.

I played a DM6 this weekend. For some reason the snare and one of the Toms was way lower volume than everything else. I looked online and there were tons of people complaining about similar problems. The headphone jack was also pushed in. I also didn't like the way the drums were all wired with 1 harness. So if one cable goes bad you have to replace them all. I had a roland set years ago and each cable was independent.

Same with the Quadraverb - tons of people trying (and often failing) fix problems with the display, error messages, etc. I have no idea why a user should need to get caught up in that sort of debacle if it was built properly.

...which brings me to the subject of this thread: Does Alesis cut corners in terms of quality and reliability testing? How on Earth could ADATs have been so notoriously unreliable and yet so commonly used? Obviously Alesis gear is budget friendly, but do they reach the level of diminishing returns?

I figure if anyone is going to counter my experiences, it will those of you (homers) in this forum. :thumbs up:

I have two 20 bit ADATs. No issues with either that I didn't create or wasn't able to fix. I've been running an HD24 for many years without a hitch. Nothing but good luck with their gear.
Now my BRC has never completely played nice with the HD24 but it's close enough.

They did make some entry level stuff that's a little cheesy. But overall it ranges from decent to pretty good. My HD24 works like new though it doesn't get powered up that often.