Adat Tapes?

Fangar

Hey Fellas,

Any advice on which ADAT tapes that most of you like best. I have an LX-20 that is new. I am pretty new to the ADAT scene and would like to avoid any bad habits before I form them (well pertaining to ADAT anyway). Thanks in adavnce.

Fangar

When I'm lazy, I use the preformatted BASF tapes.... otherwise I use the Maxell Broadcast stuff...

BTW, if you have more than one machine, it's a good idea to make safety clones of any important material........ any project I do requires 2 tapes (sometimes more) - the original, the safeties, and occasional mix tapes (I'll move tracks off the work tapes after tracking is done onto fresh mixing tapes to order the tracks in my preferred track order and to shuffle out any tracks that aren't going to be used......

Bruce

I've had good luck with the Maxells and Quantigy and VERY bad luck with HHB. YMMV.

Thanks guys,

I just found some information on the Quantegy ADAT tapes. They seem pretty resonable. I found a site where you can get them for about $7.65 each. That does not seem to bad. I appreciate all of the grand advice.

Fangar

Just thought I'd throw in a couple of other options. I've been using the TDK and Maxell SVHS tapes that I can pick up at Best Buy or Circuit City. They cost aboout $13 for a set of 2, and have to be formatted, but the handful I've bought and been using have worked well so far.

DDev.....

Not a good idea I'm afraid -- ADAT tapes require a specialized coating that normal SVHS tapes do not have -- you risk losing sync or playback ability...........

Bruce

Bruce,