adat sync and word clock for dummies

a6string4u

Greetings,

I am new at recording. I am starting fresh and have selcted some hardware. I am ready to be a digital PC hard drive recording fool...Just so you understand where I am coming from. Given, an Alesis PCR card,which has an ADAT 9 pin sync I/O, and a Fostex VM200 digital mixer, which has a BNC workclock I/O, is there any way (cheap like an adaptor)to adapt part of the ADAT sync to the word clock format? Unfortunately, I have been unable to locate a specification for the ADAT sync, so I cannot determine whether I can pull a sync out of the 9 pin and worst case, translate it to TTL levels if it is not TTL already. Is my only option give the card back to the store and order something that is more open system? I am keeping the VM200. It is way cool for me.
I am not totally sure that this is even necessary, i.e. no stability gained by doing this. I do not have the interface definition for the ADAT light pipe either, so I am not sure about embedded clocks etc. Any pointers, books, or comments?
Thanks

a6string4u: you have a digital mixer hmmmm, I'm thinking there is a way to sync it via 9pin cable, I just read something on that
(o.k. never mind)
Do you have an optical/lightpipe on your PCI card ?

you should be able to go from your card
Internal / ADAT / WordClock /Ctrl Track
(let me look in on that one) I know you can do it though

Thanks,