Help With Mpc 1000 !!!! MIDI FRUSTRATED

bbeck

I'M A DIEHARD MOTIF 8 PRODUCER. :cool: :rolleyes: I'VE BEEN USEING THE MOTIF AS MY MAIN WORKHORSE SINCE IT CAME OUT. EVERYBODY SAY'S I NEED AN MPC IN MY STUDIO; SO I BROKE DOWN AND GOT ONE, AND I REALLY DON'T KNOW WHY :o ! I KINDA LIKE THE SEQUENCER ON IT, BUT I STILL SAY IT CAN'T TOUCH THE SEQUENCER ON MY MO :p , I GUESS IT'S BECAUSE I'M A KYBRDIST. :D
O.K. HERES WHAT I'M TRYING TO DO:

HOW DO I LACE IT UP !

QUESTION A.. HOW DO I USE THE MPC AS A CONTROLLER FOR MY RIG ? MOTIF 8, TRITON, AND ROLAND JUNO, WHILE STILL USEING THE MPC AS A DEDICATED DRUM MACHINE ( I DON'T HAVE MANY SOUNDS FOR THE MPC YET).
I'M USING VST DRUM SOUNDS FOR THE MPC VIA SONAR 5 PRO.

QUESTION B. SHOULD I CONTINUE TO USE THE MOTIF AS A CONTROLLER AND THE MPC AS A DEDICATED DRUM MACHINE THAT USES VST'S FOR SOUNDS, AND HOW DO I SYNC IT ALL UP ?!?

QUESTION C... IF I DO DECIDE TO USE THE MPC AS A CONTROLLER, HOW DO I GET ALL THE TRACKS TO SONAR ?

I HAVE THE EMU 1616M SOUNDCARD THAT HAS 2 SETS OF MIDI I/O PORTS

P.S. SAVING SEQUENCES ON THE MOTIF IS SO EASY !
I'M AFRAID TO SAVE A SEQUENCE ON THE MPC BECAUSE OF THE 32MB FLASH CARD IT COMES WITH I'M NOT TO FAMILIAR WITH, BUT I'LL BLOW THIS MACHINE OUT ONCE I FIGURE IT OUT ;)

SOMEBODY PLEASE HELP !!!!!!! :confused:
THANKS

Last edited:
EVERYBODY SAY'S I NEED AN MPC IN MY STUDIO;

That's the stupidest sh!t.... People say that because it's part of the trend. "Yo man... I make beats on da MPC." It's like a solgan of the true rap artist.

The MPC is irrelavent in todays studio. It was crucial in the late 1980's and early 1990's. The necessity of having a quality sequencer and sampler made the MPC a legend..... THOSE DAYS ARE OVER!

TO ANSWER YOUR QUESTION

The traditional way to use an MPC was as the master sequencer. The MO would be connected to the MPC, set to multi mode, and all MIDI data would be manipulated within the MPC.