Should I Upgrade from Live 8 to Live 9

Shepherd Jim

Warning: this is a REAL NEWBIE question. I considered posting it in the Forum's "Newbie" area but it IS a bit too specific for that,

I purchased Live 8 a couple of years ago. Dutifully installed it and then pretty much forgot about it. I've been doing other things (Eg. field recording, playing with iPad synths) and knew I faced a steep learning curve with much time to be spent watching tutorials, etc.

Okay, I'm now about to dedicate myself to BEGINNING the process of learning Ableton Live.

Question: What are the negatives, if any, of me getting up to speed with Live 8 at this point in time? Am I really doing myself a disservice by not moving up to Live 9 — especially noting that currently the upgrade is on "Holiday Special" at a 20% discount. Maybe it makes way more sense for me to spend the $$$ and just lear Live 9 vs. learning Live 8 and THEN having to go through the whole process again with Live 9???

I'm a hobbyist playing on my own so do not have to up-to-date/current. But, I do understand that many times new versions of software represent real improvments which it would be ignorant to not take advantage of.

Please be kind!

Jim, Mid-Coast Maine, USA

I used 8 and then upgraded to 9. It is finally stable for me. So the software is now good on that front. There are a few features that is nice with 9, like analog to MIDI conversion. That is the only thing I can think of since I have been on it so long. The main reason I purchased it was for 64 bit. Even though it doesn't do true 64 bit, it does allow to take advantage of more RAM. The 32 bit is limited to the 4K. Other than that, you gain nothing with the 64 bit version. If you have 4+GB RAM, it will use it with the 64 bit version.