This last week

D

dintymoore

I've been upgrading, actually re-doing my live cyber band routine. For a few decades I've been playing around town. I've been using a Mac to blow a Roland SC-8850, which is an all-in-one sound module. Since I got into this MIDI shit in 1983 there have been a number of big shifts where I had to redo my stuff. This last week or so I spent over 100 hrs on Ableton.

I had been using QMidi on stage for about 7 years. It is an incredible program. If Ableton Live! is $300 then QMidi should be $3000 but it's $15. For one man bands I haven't seen anything that even comes close. Since '83 I programmed probably around 800 songs, and wrote charts for maybe 500 of them. I go to gigs with 350 songs on QMidi, here's what the screen looks like:

QMIDI.jpg

QMidi gives you instant access to your songs, and calls up the words etc... It works flawlessly. I create the songs on Cubase VST24 v4.1r2. I have Cubase SX3 and 4 but still prefer the older OS 9 version for MIDI.

Here's what I've been up to in Ableton Live, I've got about 60 dance tunes chopped and diced in there:

LIVE.jpg

I've got some of the songs chopped up. I didn't store any tempos with the songs, so I can jump from tune to tune and make up arrangements.

Songs titles with an "@" after them are loops and go until something else is cued.

There's no count ins, except with at least a kick drum. So the idea is that I go on stage and the kick pulse starts and doesn't stop for a few hours. In a way like a disco or rave party - where's my pacifier?

Getting the tunes into Live was a trip. Live is very unfinished MIDI-wise. For some reason they have not made their program 100% MIDI compatable, and worse, you have to discover what's missing and what's not for yourself. I have been talking to them for over a year and they keep releasing versions with the same errors in them so I plan on ditching Ableton Live the second something new (from Steinberg please!!!) comes out.