Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Only Jacks 1 And 2 In My Audacity

  1. #1
    michaelbaribeau is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Only Jacks 1 And 2 In My Audacity

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Our chorus bought a new laptop with windows 7 with a Tascam US-1800 USB 2.0 Audio Interface and wanted to use Audacity to simultaneous multitrack record 4 mics but only mic ports 1 and 2 show up in aucacity as channel left and right of one stereo track. Even if I only plug in mics to ports 3 and 4 they don't show up, only mic ports 1 and 2 will. Even opening more tracks in Audacity doesn't help it just starts a new track with only those 2 mic ports. I understand this basically replaces the function of the laptop's sound card so that wouldn't be the issue, right? I read that "USB is only really reliable for a maximum of two input channels simultaneously. It just can't handle the bandwidth of more, especially when you're monitoring back too." Is that right?

  2. #2
    bouldersoundguy is offline Modulator
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    4,579
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    11262520
    This might be the problem: Go into Audacity, Edit, Preferences, Audio I/O tab, under Recording, Channels and select 4.

    Or ditch Audacity for this kind of recording and get a proper DAW.

  3. #3
    jjones1700's Avatar
    jjones1700 is offline Learning, always learning
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    41
    Posts
    1,318
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    723246
    Ditch Audacity and download Reaper. Reaper is a true multi-track DAW software (doesn't have all the bells and whistles of ProTools, but a very solid DAW none-the-less) that has a free trial download and is only $40 for the license (last I checked... highly suggested to support the project, but not a requirement) I use a Tascam US-1641 with it and have no problems, other than the occasional driver glitch (1641 is older version of 2000/800 family).
    The interface said to use "Windows XP or higher"...

    ... I used tape...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. I need jacks
    By sweetbeats in forum Analog Only
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-23-2008, 15:27
  2. cliff jacks
    By famous beagle in forum Guitars and Basses
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 21:47
  3. Analog jacks&cords vs. 1/4 inch. jacks&cords
    By RCAGuy05 in forum The Rack
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-20-2005, 17:14
  4. jacks
    By Stavencrows in forum Newbies
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2005, 17:08
  5. (ins/outs rear of mixer)why RCA phono jacks instead of TRS jacks?
    By D.B. Cooper in forum Mixing Techniques
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-28-2003, 20:45

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!