Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Newbie w/Advance Q: TASCAM US1800, How to "In Box" Play & Record?

MoBuc is offline Newbie
    Thanks

Question Newbie w/Advance Q: TASCAM US1800, How to "In Box" Play & Record?

Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi all,
    I have the Tascam US-1800 USB Audio Interface. I've recently discovered the driver for this device does not route playback into a PC recording program if the "playing" program is also, on the same PC. I am assuming the exception is playing a track within an "In-Box" DAW can record back to a new Track (Mix Down) within the same Software. (Cubase may allow route back into itself. I'm new to Cubase. )

Q: How may I play audio in 1 program & record it into Audacity (or Cubase LE5)? Ideally, I want to have only 1 Audio Driver enabled. I would like to hear connectivity ideas for 2 Audio Cards, if that is the only work-around available. That's how I have been doing it up till now.

Old Way :
    US1800: Enabled w/ USB to PC, I/O & COAX SPDIF to EMU 1212m
    EMU 1212m: Enabled w/ I/O Spdif Coax to same of US1800.
    WinXP Onbord Crd: BIOS disabled, & Wavetable Disabled

Ideal:
    US1800: Enabled w/USB to PC & I/O & COAX to misc External Devices/Instruments
    EMU 1212m: Disabled & unused
    WinXP Onboard Crd: Disabled & unused.

I'm open for suggestions. The "Old Way" is very awkward & time consuming to configure as it is different for each PC Program pairs involved (WMP to Audacity, Internet Browser to Audacity or DAWs, etc.).

Thanks in advance for your ideas.
    -MoBuc DAW: Boss Rcrdr, PowerTracks Pro Sequencer, Forte & Coyote DXi, YPT300 KB, EMU 1212m, Proteus VX, Patchmix DSP, SM58 Mic, Asus M2N4-Sli (MoBo), 4GB RAM, AMD 64x2 CPU. Tascam US-1800 Audio, Cubase LE5, Rolls Mic Amp, & MCM Unbal/Bal Converter.

MoBuc is offline Newbie
    Thanks
    This Question Post is a continue of, ": Newbie Q: How 2 Replace Microsoft Wave with knew card?" question posts now closed.