MX-2424 problem

bobkill

I bought a MX-2424 not long ago. I tested it and it recorded on all channels, everything worked fine. I mounted it in my rack, attached cables (analog) and turned it on and get nothing but a blank display. Does anybody have any idea of what might be going on and where I go from here? I'm new to hard drive recorders and could use some help.

When you say blank display, are there any lights on? If there are lights on but no display I would suggest taking the lid off and checking that one of the internal wiring plugs/looms may be loose.

Cheers
Alan.

The display lights up but no letters show up. I saw your (Witzendoz) thing about using MX-View with XP but I couldn't get my IP to accept your e-mail. Could you help me with that.

The display lights up but no letters show up. I saw your (Witzendoz) thing about using MX-View with XP but I couldn't get my IP to accept your e-mail. Could you help me with that.

I would still take off the lid (with the mains power unplugged) and make sure the ribbon cables to the display are firm, maybe take them apart and put them back to check that there is a good connection.

The other thing that may have happened is that the operating system may have been lost, do you have the memory card with the operating system on it? If so put it in the slot with the power off and boot up the MX.

I am about to start the weekend here so i amy not be on the net that much, see how you go and I will check in when I can. I will get onto the MX-view thing when we solve the display problem.

Alan.

I took the ribbon cable connections off and put them back on and still have the problem. So I guess I need to find a media card with the OS on it. Is there any other way to restore the OS software? Bob

I have been giving this some thought, and I think that you need a media card to load the operating system. If you have lost yours, Tascam support/spares may have some still laying around.

Alan.