Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Dongle Hack For Sx3

  1. #1
    BRIEFCASEMANX's Avatar
    BRIEFCASEMANX is offline Winner chicken dinner!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,073
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    38512

    Question Dongle Hack For Sx3

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Believe it or not, I just PURCHASED(as in spent my own moolah) a student copy of SX3, and I'm wondering if theres anyway to get away from using the dongle, but before that I have some questions about the dongle.

    Is it something you plug in while you first start using cubase, or does it have to be plugged in the whole time? It looks like a big hassle. it's long and looks like it would damage my usb port over time if i kept it in there just from being so long and weighting down the usb input. If you only have to put it in while starting cubase in order to verify that you are a legit user than I'm fine with that, but it seems like a huge hassle if it needs to be plugged in the whole time, not to mention that my usb ports are all full and i'd have to keep plugging and unplugging stuff every time i used cubase.

    Before negative repping me, i'll actually post pictures of my cubase box/dongle etc in about a week or so when i get it. I'm legit.
    Be true, gentle warrior. Stay with me through the night, my fine stallion, you incredible and powerful beast.

    Wild Hogan Recording

  2. #2
    bigwillz24's Avatar
    bigwillz24 is offline One Turd at a Time...
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Age
    38
    Posts
    2,838
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    What a way to draw people in to read your post...

  3. #3
    Chris Shaeffer's Avatar
    Chris Shaeffer is offline Peavey ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Big Island, HI.
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4950
    I just tried it with my version of SX2 and its does require the USB key to be in at all times. You can pull it out for a few minutes, but it'll notice eventually. I'm assuming its the same for SX3.

    There is no dongle crack for the Mac and I'm not sure if the PC guys have cracked V3, yet. If you do decide be dongle crack your legal copy that's up to you- watch out for viruses and all that crap that goes along with shady downloading.

    I'd suggest NOT cracking it as this can lead to stability issues. If you have a dongle just use it and rest assured that your software will work. If you're out of USB ports go grab a cheapo USB hub, plug it in, plug in the USB key and forget about it. I've never had any trouble with mine or the various USB ports I plug it into- its very small and light.

    Take care,
    Chris

  4. #4
    BRIEFCASEMANX's Avatar
    BRIEFCASEMANX is offline Winner chicken dinner!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,073
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    38512
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Shaeffer
    I just tried it with my version of SX2 and its does require the USB key to be in at all times. You can pull it out for a few minutes, but it'll notice eventually. I'm assuming its the same for SX3.

    There is no dongle crack for the Mac and I'm not sure if the PC guys have cracked V3, yet. If you do decide be dongle crack your legal copy that's up to you- watch out for viruses and all that crap that goes along with shady downloading.

    I'd suggest NOT cracking it as this can lead to stability issues. If you have a dongle just use it and rest assured that your software will work. If you're out of USB ports go grab a cheapo USB hub, plug it in, plug in the USB key and forget about it. I've never had any trouble with mine or the various USB ports I plug it into- its very small and light.

    Take care,
    Chris
    I just looked at the dongle again and it actually doesn't appear to be that big at all. There was some picture I saw of it a few weeks ago that had no frame of reference and it may have been at a weird angle but it made it look like it was HUGE. How big is it anyway?--it looks now to be less than 2 inches long which isn't bad at all. USB hub thing is a great idea too btw.
    Be true, gentle warrior. Stay with me through the night, my fine stallion, you incredible and powerful beast.

    Wild Hogan Recording

  5. #5
    Chris Shaeffer's Avatar
    Chris Shaeffer is offline Peavey ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Big Island, HI.
    Age
    41
    Posts
    2,507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    4950
    Its the same size as the a USB plug at the end of the cable, except about 1.5" long. It probably puts less weight on the port than a plug with the weight of a cable on it.

    Take care,
    Chris

  6. #6
    BRIEFCASEMANX's Avatar
    BRIEFCASEMANX is offline Winner chicken dinner!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    spokane, WA
    Posts
    1,073
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    38512
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris Shaeffer
    Its the same size as the a USB plug at the end of the cable, except about 1.5" long. It probably puts less weight on the port than a plug with the weight of a cable on it.

    Take care,
    Chris
    Sweet thanks!
    Be true, gentle warrior. Stay with me through the night, my fine stallion, you incredible and powerful beast.

    Wild Hogan Recording

  7. #7
    Farview's Avatar
    Farview is offline www.farviewrecording.com
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Age
    48
    Posts
    12,492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    12342879
    Quote Originally Posted by BRIEFCASEMANX
    I just looked at the dongle again and it actually doesn't appear to be that big at all. There was some picture I saw of it a few weeks ago that had no frame of reference and it may have been at a weird angle but it made it look like it was HUGE. How big is it anyway?--it looks now to be less than 2 inches long which isn't bad at all. USB hub thing is a great idea too btw.
    I thought you bought it. Why would you have to ask us what size the dongle is if you have it sitting in the box? Is it really that much easier to type a question than open a box that needs to be opened anyway?
    Jay Walsh
    Farview Recording and HERE!!!!

  8. #8
    MadAudio's Avatar
    MadAudio is offline Damned if I do
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    D.C.
    Age
    50
    Posts
    11,984
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1788132
    Maybe he bought it online and it hasn't been delivered yet?

  9. #9
    Carter's Avatar
    Carter is offline Total gear slut
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio " IN THE LAB"
    Age
    46
    Posts
    2,741
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    171751
    Quote Originally Posted by Farview
    I thought you bought it. Why would you have to ask us what size the dongle is if you have it sitting in the box? Is it really that much easier to type a question than open a box that needs to be opened anyway?

    Quote Originally Posted by BRIEFCASEMANX
    Before negative repping me, i'll actually post pictures of my cubase box/dongle etc in about a week or so when i get it. I'm legit

    This is what he said, The post is from today so he doesent have it yet
    Carter

    MCF Productions

  10. #10
    Farview's Avatar
    Farview is offline www.farviewrecording.com
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Age
    48
    Posts
    12,492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    12342879
    I need to stop posting before I have a sufficient amount of coffee in my system. Sorry.
    Jay Walsh
    Farview Recording and HERE!!!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. dongle question.
    By jdalziel in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-02-2005, 13:38
  2. Doesn't recognize dongle but ran ok for 4 months
    By Roger Mac in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-13-2004, 09:24
  3. AISO drivers for Audigy1, or latency hack?
    By Starstreams in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-06-2004, 01:45
  4. dongle gone bad
    By toyL in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-24-2003, 23:38
  5. How Big Should I Get My Dongle?
    By CMiller in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-03-2000, 17:43

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!