Roland VS series versus PC

steve10358

Hello.

I need to get into home recording. However, I am stuck with several questions.

1. Why did you go with your VS Roland, rather than going PC with an Mbox or software?

2. Would you have done it different, if you were to do it over?

3. Are you satisfied?

4. What advantages are there to going with an all-in-one console, rather than a Computer based system?

Thanks!

Steve

There are many long threads on vsplanet regarding this.
For me, I work in IT and can't stand the thought of dealing with a PC for my recording.
When you have problems who you gonna call?
The PC vendor? The Software vendor, the hardware interface vendor? In fact how will you determine where the fault lies?

Both have obvious advantages and disadvantages.
Portability, cost features etc.
A PC based system is likely to cost more, with individual components purchased say vs a 2480 using all the internal included stuff at least to start.
One is a closed system (Roland) the other open.

I use the 2480 AND a PC for mastering, best of both worlds.
The 2480 is fast and easy to work with compared to a PC.
Very little mousing around to get going. I can work very fast compared to dealing with a PC, with all the hardware features built right in to the 2480. An automated work surface alone costs this much for other pC platforms, and in fact the 2480 can be programmed to be a work surface using MMC, and/or can incorporate inexpensive PCI cards to take audio 16 tracks at a time directly to your PC for further processing. It has it's bugs, but their getting to be less and less with time passing as Roland issues FREE updates, unlike PC software companies.

It is smart to be looking at this before any purchase.
I record with a BR8 and drop tracks into Acid for mixing.