Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Low level background noise in Roland DS-30A active monitors

  1. #1
    fozzie is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Low level background noise in Roland DS-30A active monitors

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I am getting some background noise from some Roland DS-30A active monitors. I am using the monitors' analogue connection. They also have a digital connection but I am not using it. My hardware set up is a Behringer Eurorack MX2004A external analogue mixing console plugged into the line-in of an EchoAudio Mia 24/96 soundcard. I am using 1/4 inch jack plugs at the soundcard and the mixer. When the PC tower is shut down and the mixer and monitors are switched on there is no background noise. The noise only begins when the tower is booted up.

    It is difficult to describe the noise. It is not a constant buzz or a constant high pitched beep. It is a little like the faint sound of crickets (and no it isn't actually crickets--I live in England and we don't have them here!). It's not a constant sound but an irregular, periodic, repetitive sound that comes and goes every few 5-10 seconds. It looks like the electronics in the tower is causing it. It is a Dell Inspiron 560 MT tower. Any thoughts about how to eliminate it would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    mjbphotos's Avatar
    mjbphotos is online now Been Here, Posted That
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Lowell Street Studio, New England
    Posts
    6,914
    Rep Power
    15251840
    It could be coming from the soundcard, too. Can you borrow a USB interface from someone to check?

  3. #3
    fozzie is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mjbphotos View Post
    It could be coming from the soundcard, too. Can you borrow a USB interface from someone to check?
    I don't know anyone with a USB sound device. Until a week ago i used the onboard Realtek HD audio chip which also had the background noise. I tried installing the Mia to see if that was the problem but there was no change.

    I have just disabled the Realtek and another sound device that comes with the ATI graphics card in Device Manager to no avail.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2013, 17:44
  2. RNLA/RNC And Low Level Noise
    By BigEZ in forum The Rack
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 05-02-2011, 11:46
  3. Roland DS-30A monitors - opinions
    By andyhix in forum Other Equipment and Reviews
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2006, 12:06
  4. low cost active monitors
    By jdechant in forum Mixing Techniques
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-01-2001, 13:23
  5. background noise in monitors
    By dvincent in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-31-2001, 10:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
A3E sponsorship event box

Check out A3E in Boston!