Can one record a professional quality recording with the vs1680?

ajl

Hello all.
Does the 1680 (with the technique of a great engineer) have the capability of producing a professional sounding recording. If so, does anyone know of an album that has been commercially released that was recorded on the 1680. My recordings on the 1680 sound ok, but when I compare them to other professional recordings, I find that the levels sound low in comparison, even though the peak meters are at their max before distortion.
I even burned the sample song "URB" that came with the 1680, but still, the levels were lower and sounded somewhere between amateur and semi-professional.

Dude...I agree with ya...I really dont think one can get truly professional results on a VS-1680. I should know...I owned one for 2 1/2 years. Now lets forget the fact that I am a great producer...hehehe...but I have had a digi-001 for a month now and I have actually been able to get almost professional results. Maybe its because of the change of scenery that my results are suddenly better...But maybe not...

the demo song on your 1680 is not mastered and thats where some heat can be added.

there are a lot of tricks to making hot recordings on this equipment.

limit and then compress everything before it goes in and you can record MUCH hotter.

theres no logical reason why a 1680 couldnt make a perfectly good recording ready for mastering and eventual distribution as a commercial release.

YOU are the weakest link. goodbye.

wascal said:
the demo song on your 1680 is not mastered and thats where some heat can be added.

there are a lot of tricks to making hot recordings on this equipment.

limit and then compress everything before it goes in and you can record MUCH hotter.

theres no logical reason why a 1680 couldnt make a perfectly good recording ready for mastering and eventual distribution as a commercial release.

YOU are the weakest link. goodbye.

What kind of compressor/limiter would you recommend?