Would like to try Pro Tools. Whats needed?

caustic69

I have been a guitarist for 20+ years, primarily metal music. I have owned tape multitrack recorders in the past and currently have a Fostex MR8 because it's easy to use. I am not too computer capable but nevertheless, I would like to try recording with Pro Tools. I have heard you can record riffs or parts of songs and then basically edit them into a song. My issue is I don't know what I need in terms of a computer, which version of Pro Tools, what kind of hardware/accessories. I don't want to go with a Mac.

If someone could literally from the ground up tell me what I would need to record guitar/bass parts. I have a regular guitar rig that would need to be mic'd and also a Line 6 POD.

Also, what is the learning curve on this? I had a Roland UR8 with Cakewalk in the past and it was really difficult to use. I'd lay down track and they would not be synchronized. (latency issues I think it was called).

Thanks for any and all help with this!

Thanks,
I read the link and it gave me some idea. However, I am still wondering about the PC requirements. What is the minimum processor speed, hard drive capacity, memory needed to pull this off?

If you're not so great with computers, why the hell WOULDN'T you want a mac?! Geez, I've been a computer tech for ten years and I still got a mac when I went to Pro Tools. They're just built for each other, end of story man! :)

If you're not so great with computers, why the hell WOULDN'T you want a mac?! Geez, I've been a computer tech for ten years and I still got a mac when I went to Pro Tools. They're just built for each other, end of story man! :)

+1 I have built PCs for years and studied to get my A+ certification. I hac nothing but heartache with PCs and DAWS, whether it was Cakewalk, n-Track or any of the other ones I tried. Until I got to PT LE 5.X and Windows. That was pretty stable, but not without the occasional glitchy behaviour and crashes.