Troubleshooting Pro Tools Sound Quality Problems. Help!

brandonrw

Hello all,

Long time reader, first post, and in need of some help with my current PT rig. I have searched old posts/faq's/etc/etc. and wasn't able to find anything quite like what I am experiencing so here goes...

I am running PT 9 on a 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 Mac running OSX 10.6.8, interface is an M-Audio Fast track pro.

I have been working with my current recording setup for over 2 years now, but I recently noticed some sound quality discrepancies with some plugins that are starting to become more and more apparent. For the sake of explanation, I will use Guitar Rig 5 as my example as that it is where it is blatently obvious.

You can use Guitar Rig 5 as a stand alone application, or as a plugin in your DAW. When I run GR5 as a standalone application, the sound quality is very noticeably better than when I use it as an insert in PT. I have double checked all settings within GR5 itself, and the standalone and the insert match exactly. Also, I am using the Hi quality setting within GR5 on both. When in pro tools, I am not using any other plugins/sends/etc. on the track. I have tried both mono and mono/stereo versions of the plugin and get the same results.

The best way for me to describe the difference in sound quality is that it seems like a lower quality version of the same sound - its not unbearably different, but its noticable enough. I think part of the reason I am just now noticing this is that I have recently started working on much higher quality projects as apposed to just demoing ideas and the sound quality in the guitars I was working with just dont even compare to what I can get outside of pro tools with the same application.

Here are some thoughts from my end and a few other tidbits in case they might help: