Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Popping noise in protools.

  1. #1
    raximus is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    38
    Rep Power
    0

    Popping noise in protools.

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey everyone, i have protools 8, new intel iMac and a digi 003R+ which is daisy chained off a Maxtor One Touch 4 Plus (MAC>DRIVE>DIGI).

    I am getting horrible popping noises when playing back in protools. I have about 14 tracks running with 2 - 4 plugins on each.

    After all this popping pro tools "unexpectedly closed" and i had the option of relaunching it.

    I know all about raising latency during mixing etc so i've done that. I also have the ignore errors that may cause pops and clicks checked but its still doing it.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    MessianicDreams's Avatar
    MessianicDreams is offline Throbbing Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland/Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    1,390
    Rep Power
    651402
    Yes.

    Pull the buffer size down as low as you can until PT starts telling you to put it up, and unclick that "ignore errors" check box.

    What the checkbox says is it tells PT to ignore any errors that may cause pops and clicks - so instead of stopping playback and telling you what the problem is, it keeps playing back and giving you pops and clicks!
    There are 10 types of people...those who understand binary and those who don't

    [url=http://homerecording.com/bbs/showpost.php?p=2809743&postcount=1880]My humble home studio![/url]
    [url=www.myspace.com/messianicdreams]My Choons[/url]

    [post=2568688]My DIY Broadband absorbers thread![/post]

    Mbox2, MacMini (Intel), Mackie HR624, Focusrite Liquid Mix, Frontier Design AlphaTrack

  3. #3
    bradch00 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lions Bay, B.C.
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    96202
    I have been running my iMac implementation with a projectMix I/O for a couple of years (on two different iMacs, one new alluminum, one late 2007 intel) with the projectMix I/O connected to the FW800 port using a 6 to 9 pin FW cable and the Maxtor One Touch connect to the FW400 port on the iMac from the FW400 port on the One Touch. Reason for this configuration was popping, clicking and general mayhem when I first converted from a PPC iMac, that had only 2 FW400 ports.

    Just a thought.
    Pro Tools 9.x, ProjectMix I/O (Black Lion Mod.), iMac 27" i7, 16GB OS X 10.6.8

  4. #4
    raximus is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    38
    Rep Power
    0
    So what should i do then? Is it the drive?

  5. #5
    bradch00 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lions Bay, B.C.
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    96202
    Which port have you daisy chained into on the iMac? (FW800 or FW400)?

    The iMac shares the FW bus internally between the FW800 and FW400 port. This created a lot of grief for me (popping, cracking and eventually PT shutting down).
    Pro Tools 9.x, ProjectMix I/O (Black Lion Mod.), iMac 27" i7, 16GB OS X 10.6.8

  6. #6
    amizel is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southern Delaware
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0
    So if that is the case the FW 800 is bottlenecked down to FW 400 speed and a basic solution is to get a FW card for the pci slot so it's on it's own bus.

  7. #7
    bradch00 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lions Bay, B.C.
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    96202
    Quote Originally Posted by amizel View Post
    So if that is the case the FW 800 is bottlenecked down to FW 400 speed and a basic solution is to get a FW card for the pci slot so it's on it's own bus.
    Yes that would be a good solution on a Mac Book Pro, however there is no pci slot on an iMac.

    What could be tried (if not done already) is to daisy chain the the 003 through the drive BUT into the FW400 port on the iMac.
    Last edited by bradch00; 06-27-2009 at 16:04.
    Pro Tools 9.x, ProjectMix I/O (Black Lion Mod.), iMac 27" i7, 16GB OS X 10.6.8

  8. #8
    raximus is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    38
    Rep Power
    0
    The new imac only has firewire 800. My drive only has 400. I have to use a converter cable. So its Imac FW800 > Converter cable > Fw400 Drive > Digi 003R+

    Is there a chance that its ram? I have 2GB

  9. #9
    bradch00 is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Lions Bay, B.C.
    Posts
    72
    Rep Power
    96202
    Probably not the memory, have you tried chaining through the FW800 interface of the drive, in other words;
    iMac >FW800 >FW800 Interface on the MAXTOR > FW400 Interface > 003?

    I am suggesting that configuration because of this thread at DUC;
    http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?p=1407491
    Pro Tools 9.x, ProjectMix I/O (Black Lion Mod.), iMac 27" i7, 16GB OS X 10.6.8

  10. #10
    raximus is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    38
    Rep Power
    0
    The firewire drive only has 400. I checked on the compatibility website and it said that this is doable, therefore I went and bought the double FW400 drive because its all my local store had (I'm in New Zealand)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Popping noise when burning mixes to cd
    By slash5969 in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-10-2007, 16:32
  2. Popping Noise
    By get2sammyb in forum Newbies
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-07-2005, 08:16
  3. Grounding Issue? Hum and electrical popping noise
    By Simmons in forum Guitars and Basses
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-06-2004, 18:03
  4. Popping noise when playing CD's on Masterlink?
    By bigbear in forum Alesis Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-03-2002, 06:56
  5. problems w/clicking (popping) noise
    By Esquire in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-23-2001, 11:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!