file management

Rusty K

Hello,

I'm just getting started with PT MBox 2 mini and I've already noticed that my Audio folder is filling with discarded takes etc.. How do I purge the unused files from this folder? Also after naming the tracks in my session these names aren't carried to the corresponding files in the audio folder. I find this potentially confusing. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Rusty K

regions menu-->select unused
regions menu-->remove selected...delete all

this gets rid of unused regions that might have been created and aren't used anymore.
You also have the option, if you don't like a take, to just choose Undo from the Edit menu to undo the last take. This will remove it from the audio files folder.

Naming a track that already contains regions does not rename those regions or their parent files. You need to name the tracks at the beginning of the session so that when you record onto them they will save with that track name.

bennychico11,

regions menu-->select unused
regions menu-->remove selected...delete all

Regions menu? I have a Region drop down menu at the top of the session window but there is no "select unused" or "remove selected".

Naming a track that already contains regions does not rename those regions or their parent files. You need to name the tracks at the beginning of the session so that when you record onto them they will save with that track name.

So I have to name the track before the first save?

Thanks,
Rusty K

Regions menu? I have a Region drop down menu at the top of the session window but there is no "select unused" or "remove selected".

right hand side of the edit window. you should see two separate windows for "Audio" and "MIDI" regions. These are your regions bin. If you don't see them, click on the double arrows in the lower right corner.
Click on the top of the "audio" window to get a pull down menu

So I have to name the track before the first save?