Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Can't hear wet signal

  1. #1
    keelerstein is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Can't hear wet signal

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hi, newbie here, wondered if anybody could help.

    I am running Pro Tools 9 HD on a Mac.
    After connecting my guitar all I can hear is a dry signal.
    Process I used is:
    1. Add mono audio track.
    2. Assign I/Os
    3. Add Eleven free to first insert slot
    4. Arm track.

    All I can hear is the dry signal.The audio track is metering but Eleven free is registering no input I'm probably missing something obvious.
    Incidentally, when I record something and then add eleven free it seems to work
    Many thanks.

  2. #2
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    12,232
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    I'm not an HD user, but IIRC there's an option called 'low latency monitoring' in one of the menus.

    It enables direct monitoring which would be dry.

    Look for that and turn it off, and sure, let us know if that doesn't help.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?

  3. #3
    keelerstein is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Many thanks for you reply. Have looked in the ref. manual and it instructs thus:
    To override Low Latency Monitoring During Recording on specific record tracks:
    ␣ Command-Control-click (Mac) or Control- Start-click (Windows) the Track Compensation indicator. Delay Compensations is applied to the track and the Track Compensation indicator displays in blue.
    Unfortunately this seems to have no effect, the indicator remains green.
    Fortunately somebody on another forum gave me a workaround. Add aux track, add insert and then point at audio track. This works thankfully, however I still would like to get to the bottom of the problem.
    Thanks again for your help

  4. #4
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    12,232
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    Go to the options menu and look for 'low latency monitoring'.

    If it's there, click it to turn it off.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?

  5. #5
    keelerstein is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks, delay compensation in options directs you to Playback engine where you can set it to either long or short . Once this is done you can disable it via the mixer.
    Unfortunately no change. Guess I'll continue with using aux tracks for now.

  6. #6
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    12,232
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    Quote Originally Posted by keelerstein View Post
    Thanks, delay compensation in options directs you to Playback engine where you can set it to either long or short . Once this is done you can disable it via the mixer.
    Unfortunately no change. Guess I'll continue with using aux tracks for now.
    keeler, look for "low latency monitoring".

    Delay compensation is a different thing.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?

  7. #7
    nsterken is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    keelerstein, i run pro tools 8 m-powered, so its abit diff but I never had any trouble with this save for possible latency issues, but, if that happens, you should get an error message on screen and playback/record will cease.

    I simply put Eleven on an audio track insert and it works fine. I have to have the 'Record enable" button highlightedo n the track to be able to hear it. Becuz I hate latency, I also go to setup>playback options and set the samples as low as they go and the disck cache as low as it goes, too, for super low latency. When you have lots of tracks, u may have to sum them together to playback this tight but if u have an HD system, I'm guessing ur rig is way more capable than mine.

    See if record enabling the track helps.

    EDIT: Oh, sorry, u said u did that.

    That's odd. Your I/O is configured correctly?

  8. #8
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    12,232
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    nsterken, PT HD differs from other versions in that it has zero latency monitoring.
    It's like direct monitoring on an interface, in that you won't hear any processing; Just the raw recorded track.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?

  9. #9
    keelerstein is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Hi, O.k. under options there is no Low Latency monitoring option. I have seen a couple of videos where this is clearly listed at the bottom (not sure what version they were using). At the bottom of my options menu is Delay compensation.

  10. #10
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    12,232
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    Hmmm, strange.
    What hardware are you using? I looked into it and LLM is a hardware feature if you use 002/003/mbox pro etc.

    Does your hardware have a direct monitoring function to turn off?
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 30
    Last Post: 05-28-2013, 11:37
  2. REAPER Monitor wet signal but record dry?
    By Muzzaman in forum Don't Fear The Reaper
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-20-2011, 15:35
  3. Can't hear signal during input!! Only afterward.
    By Mountainmirrors in forum Cool Edit Pro / Adobe Audition Forum
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-26-2003, 22:51
  4. Help! I Can't hear what I am recording from digital signal in using USB.
    By Willie McCulloc in forum Cool Edit Pro / Adobe Audition Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-20-2003, 11:43

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!