New To Mac

Rusty K

Hello,

I'm new to Mac and I've been with Pro Tools for a couple of years. I've been pleased with it over what I was using before (Adobe Audition). Now that I have a Mac and because of the ongoing competition and conflicts between new OS versions and software updates, I'm seriously thinking about going with Logic. A pro engineer buddy of mine made the switch and showed me the program on his puter. It looks fanstastic and he claims that Logic uses less of his computer resources. Logic also seems like a seamless transition from GarageBand. Since I'm basically a songwriter and don't plan on becoming a professional engineer it seems reasonable that a good way for me to get started would be to aquaint myself with GarageBand first. From my point of view GB is already pretty awesome for fleshing out a tune.

Does anyone else here have GB experience? Am I correct in assuming that the GB sessions will drop into Logic?

I can tell you just coming from reading about Logic on apple.com that you can open GB files in Logic for sure.

Since I'm basically a songwriter and don't plan on becoming a professional engineer

From this sentence alone I'd recommend switching to logic. The MIDI capabilities
and instrument plugs in Logic kick the crap out of Pro Tools on that side of
things.

The way it's usually seen:
Pro Tools = Engineers Program
Logic = Composer/musician/producers program

(obviously this isn't THE WAY IT SHOULD BE but it's the right idea)

Hope this helps.

The only time I had trouble bringing GB files into Logic is when the GB version is newer than the Logic version, but they usually remedy that with an automatically downloaded patch.

If the sessions drop right in then am I to assume that all the GB plugins are in Logic so that the mix will translate?

If the sessions drop right in then am I to assume that all the GB plugins are in Logic so that the mix will translate?