Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Logic MIDI Drums

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    22
    Rep Power
    0

    Logic MIDI Drums

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I have MIDI files of drums that I'd like to rework. It's easy to change the velocity of the hits, but I haven't been able to find a way to change the pan. For instance, I like to pan hi hats hard left and ride to the right, however Logic seems to have them pretty close to the middle. Anyone have experience editing MIDI in Logic?

  2. #2
    gecko zzed's Avatar
    gecko zzed is offline audio illusion
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ranelagh Tasmania
    Age
    63
    Posts
    4,807
    Rep Power
    21474849
    The easiest way that I can think of is to split the drum track into its different bits and put them on different tracks, e.g. kick on one track, hi-hat on another and so on. That way you can pan each track to your heart's content.
    http://homerecording.com/bbs/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=45599&dateline=1256715193
    I have a theory about that

  3. #3
    guitarplayr82's Avatar
    guitarplayr82 is offline 1K Silver Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,214
    Rep Power
    3820723
    Good advice gecko. The easiest way to do this is to select the MIDI track, go to the MIDI menu, and hit Separate MIDI Events > By Note Pitch. In my version of Logic this is kinda buggy... you have to create a new software instrument track for each note pitch and then drag each note pitch track into the a new software instrument track or else the drum tracks will still be grouped together and act as one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    22
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks. I'll give it a shot. I did find a plugin that let me edit the MIDI, but it only captured the hits, with no envelopes.

    I think I'll try splitting up the track. I'm used to mixing drums multitrack anyways. Maybe it will sound more realistic and less like a drum machine!?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. fixing sloppy drums in logic...
    By metalboy458 in forum Emagic / Logic Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-11-2012, 17:09
  2. V drums and logic
    By Brohnis in forum Emagic / Logic Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-06-2012, 20:22
  3. How to create drums like this in Apple Logic?
    By bhefner88 in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 21:45
  4. How to record V-Drums in Logic Express?
    By Johnka in forum Drums and Percussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-14-2011, 06:22
  5. Addictive Drums in Logic Pro 8
    By justaphasia in forum Drums and Percussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2008, 08:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
A3E sponsorship event box

Check out A3E in Boston!