Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sonar Automation Problems :(

  1. #1
    Vinnydude's Avatar
    Vinnydude is offline Clunge Monster
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    242
    Rep Power
    75610

    Sonar Automation Problems :(

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I've had automation problems in the past but that was it just not responding. Today I've encountered a really really flipping annoying and bizzare problem :/

    Before I start, i'm going to point out that I've completely restarted the project I was working on, reset my entire system, and I was still getting this. Very odd indeed.

    Right then, the problem!

    I'm doing a collaboration track with someone, i've imported my wavs and got a synth loaded. On that synth i've got a filterfreak (i've tried other plugins and it still persists!) and set an envelope on the frequency.

    Now, here is where it gets wierd. The synth line comes in at bar 5, and the frequency swells, standard really! lol. But for some reason, if I play from bar 2 rather than from the start, there is a 2 bar delay on the automation. The same if I started form bar 4 and 5 too, there would be a 4 or 5 bar delay before the envelope kicked in.

    What the HELL is going on?!!!

  2. #2
    Vinnydude's Avatar
    Vinnydude is offline Clunge Monster
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    242
    Rep Power
    75610
    Small update, it only seems to do it with the Toxic Biohazard Synth. The fx plugin doesn't seem to matter though.

  3. #3
    YellowDwarf's Avatar
    YellowDwarf is offline Perma Newb
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    220
    Rep Power
    2961622
    What do the folks at image-line say?

  4. #4
    Vinnydude's Avatar
    Vinnydude is offline Clunge Monster
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Lancaster, UK
    Posts
    242
    Rep Power
    75610
    If I play the track from the start it's alright and luckily it's at the start :P

    Also, I'm sure I've had a similar issue before a while ago and there was a setting somewhere within sonar about timing or something, I forget, god dam memory!

    But yeah, I'm pretty sure it's something within Sonar that I've missed! lol

    I'll keep at it and when I eventually find what it is I'm looking for I shall report back

  5. #5
    Mr Clean's Avatar
    Mr Clean is offline AKA Teddy Wong
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Derby, England
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,786
    Rep Power
    10785049
    I bounce my synths down to audio before adding fx/automation. You could try that.
    www.themrclean.co.uk
    Cheap Computer - Cheap Mic - Cheap Preamp - Cheap Instruments - Getting the job done!

  6. #6
    Jonesey9 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    236
    Rep Power
    102813
    Bouncing won't cure the problem - it's synth automation he's working with, not track

  7. #7
    Mr Clean's Avatar
    Mr Clean is offline AKA Teddy Wong
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Derby, England
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,786
    Rep Power
    10785049
    If he records/bounces the plain synth down to an audio file, it will be track and he can automate, envelope, cut, paste and fx the track all he likes. I do it everytime.
    www.themrclean.co.uk
    Cheap Computer - Cheap Mic - Cheap Preamp - Cheap Instruments - Getting the job done!

  8. #8
    Jonesey9 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    236
    Rep Power
    102813
    Yes, but he can't affect filter cutoff/resonance/ADSR settings etc - I gather this is what he's trying to automate.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Automation problems w/Reaktor and Cubase
    By rockinrocker in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 19:56
  2. Automation problems with my controller
    By garyc in forum Steinberg / Cubase User Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 10:52
  3. automation in sonar
    By osion in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-22-2006, 10:35
  4. Track Automation Problems with Pro Audio 9.03
    By monkeyboy32 in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-15-2003, 15:25
  5. SOnar 2 Automation
    By Toki987 in forum Cakewalk / Sonar Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-09-2003, 09:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!