Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 56

Thread: New to SoundFonts

  1. #1
    dmbpettit is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Age
    33
    Posts
    183
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    12

    New to SoundFonts

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I was wondering how to start using SoundFonts, or if I can at all. I use Sonar 2.0 XL and I have a Audigy 2 Platinum card. I don't have any midi equipment, just a mixer, guitars and some amps. What I would like to do is have some drums going on just to fatten up the acoutic guitars that I record. Can I do this with soundfonts? Can anyone help a newcomer out?

  2. #2
    moskus's Avatar
    moskus is offline The Creator of , and
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    6,479
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    2464
    Woa! Soundfonts and SB-cards is a long time ago, but I think this could help you.

    Or you could just wait for James Argo to stop by.
    Two wrongs don't make a right, but two Wrights once made an airplane...

  3. #3
    James Argo's Avatar
    James Argo is offline Fancy Rock N' Roll
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Coffee shop around DC-Maryland-Virginia...
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1672719

    Unhappy

    ...Hang on, I'm working on it. My boss is around, I must hide to reply. I'll be back...
    Keep Rockin' and Rollin'...
    intel Q9550 Quad Core, MSI P45 Neo3-FR, 8GB DDR2-800, Win7 Ult x64, Cakewalk Sonar 8.5 PE, Adobe Audition 3, Peavey StudioMix, M-Audio Delta 1010LT, WDC 80GB SSD + WDC 500GB + WDC 2x2TB, GTX440 + Dual 19" LCD.

  4. #4
    BluesMeister's Avatar
    BluesMeister is offline Occasional Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Down by the river
    Age
    65
    Posts
    778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    13

    Cool

    Arrange these words into a well-known phrase or saying:

    GoldDrums SF2
    Hammersound
    Down Load
    From



    I'm sure Jaymz will be able to talk you through how to use them in Sonar with an Audigy2.

    (OK Jaymz, the boss has gone now!)

    --
    BluesMeister
    BluesMeister

  5. #5
    guttadaj is offline Perpetual Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL - USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    12
    Am I S.O.L. with regards to using Soundfonts with a Turtle Beach Santa Cruz soundcard? It seems like, from what I've read, I need a Soundblaster or Audigy soundcard... yes? I thought maybe HomeStudio 2002 wouldn't support them, but I see an option (albeit disabled) for Soundfonts under my Options menu. Should I just shut up and try to be happy with my VSC DXi virtual instruments, or is there hope?

    Thanks,
    -Jeff

  6. #6
    BluesMeister's Avatar
    BluesMeister is offline Occasional Poster
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Down by the river
    Age
    65
    Posts
    778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    13

    Cool

    Jeff,

    There is always hope. And it's called a software synthesiser*. Virtual Sampler or LiveSynth Pro will do the job for you. There are probably others, but I think they are the main players that I'm aware of that will handle SFs

    Both can be inserted as a DXi in HS2002.

    If you don't have a Creative card, keep it that way

    *Australian spelling. You may be more familiar with synthesizer

    --
    BluesMeister
    BluesMeister

  7. #7
    wfaraoni's Avatar
    wfaraoni is offline ear art's not a science
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Near Dallas Texas
    Posts
    740
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    2421
    do you have the manual for your software? if so I can tell you where to look.

  8. #8
    guttadaj is offline Perpetual Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL - USA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    383
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    12
    Originally posted by BluesMeister

    There is always hope.

    Keep hope alive. Good to hear that it can work. Thanks for the info, BluesMeister. Now I just have to wait for approval from the comptroller* on the additional expenditure.

    *American spelling. You may be more familiar with wife.

    Thanks again,
    -Jeff

  9. #9
    postalblue's Avatar
    postalblue is offline Force of Nature
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    592
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    14
    i use sonar and soundfonts all the time, and i don't have any midi equipment. i don't even have the crappiest keyboard you can buy. i wish i had, but i just can't afford it right now. i do all my drum sequencing in sonar clicking away with my trusty old mouse. i use soundfonts either with livesynth, vsampler or bs-1.

  10. #10
    James Argo's Avatar
    James Argo is offline Fancy Rock N' Roll
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Coffee shop around DC-Maryland-Virginia...
    Posts
    5,165
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    1672719

    Lightbulb

    How to use SoundFonts as your MIDI Tone Generator in SONAR
    I've seen so many people asking about how to use the benefit of Soundfont with SONAR.
    I think I'll just write my kind of "Basic tutorial" about it. I hope you can get the idea, and develop yourself with experience.
    I'll devide this tutorial by the soundcard you use. The first section is for Soundfonts capable soundcards (Creative Sound Blaster Live! series, Audigy, etc.). And non Soundfonts capable soundcards (M-Audio Delta cards, Audiophile cards, etc).

    First of all, if you didn't have any idea what's soundfonts all about, feel free to read this thread.

    Now, I assume you basicaly understand the concept of Soundfonts.
    Lets go to section 1.

    Using soundfonts in SONAR with soundfonts capable soundcards.

    - Generaly, you need to install propher driver of your soundcard, and also the firmware (AudioHQ) to tweak the memory setting. Ooh, you did that ? Good. Now go (for example) Start menu --> Programs -- SoundBlaster Live! --> AudioHQ (Or whatever your installation path created). Open it.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Keep Rockin' and Rollin'...
    intel Q9550 Quad Core, MSI P45 Neo3-FR, 8GB DDR2-800, Win7 Ult x64, Cakewalk Sonar 8.5 PE, Adobe Audition 3, Peavey StudioMix, M-Audio Delta 1010LT, WDC 80GB SSD + WDC 500GB + WDC 2x2TB, GTX440 + Dual 19" LCD.

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!