Desparately need help with soft synth setup in SONAR HS 7 XL

TeeMoon

This is my first post. Not sure how I managed to NOT find this awesome place for so long!

I have been using versions of Cakewalk for about 20 years but always strictly midi and using external devices for sound (Roland Sound Canvas, and various sound producing keyboards over the years). Recently I finally built my dream "monster" desktop PC and installed SONAR Home Studio 7-XL, which I am already familiar with. With the new machine I am finally comfortable with my processing power, space, and memory to dive into VST's and soft synths for the first time. I downloaded two freebie soft synths that looked interesting and inserted one into a new project but I cant get any sound to make it's way to the speakers from any soft synth, not even from TSS-1 that comes setup in the default "NORMAL" template, even though I can see that the soft synth tracks do receive midi coming from my keyboard/controller. I have reinstalled SONAR several times as recommended somewhere. After reading everything I could find and watching several you tubes on soft synths I haven't found anything that explains all the different audio related settings that come into play. I am probably one or two mouse clicks from fixing the problem but after two days of messing with it I feel just as ignorant as when I started.

HELP PLEASE.

1) the input for a MIDI track is set to your keyboard
2) the output of the MIDI track points to a soft synth
3) a patch/program is loaded in the soft synth
4) the soft synth output is pointed to your output device
5) SHS has access to your output device (some other program has not taken exclusive control of your sound card)
6) Sound comes out of the speaker.

Where are you in the above list in chasing down the problem?

Glen

Glen,
YES< YES< YES!!

You are awesome!