What's the final word on the Masterlink?

Apple

Seems like a pretty spirited debate about the Masterlink. My studio is not computer based and I'm thinking it would be nice if the Masterlink was the piece of equipment it was advertsised as. I'm more musician than engineer and when it comes to making copies of my recordings, that is when I start getting frustrated with being the engineer. I listen to my mixes on all types of systems and I can only get it to sound like I want in the control room. (I'm a terrible engineer). But then, I've heard my recordings played on major radio stations and they sounded good. They moved air. There was depth and no transient distortion. They weren't mud and sounded like they did in the control room. One of these recordings was done on a cassette porta studio. Of course, radio stations have some nice compressors. Is any of the competition coming out with their version of a Masterlink?

I love the Masterlink as a 2-track mixdown unit. It works very well and sounds pretty good.

I love it even more pairing it up with Lucid A/D and D/a converters though!!!

what do you love about it? How are your recording different from before you had a masterlink? Do you love it because of the ease of use or does it smooth out the transient spikes? Or does it make your mixes sound more consistent from one system to the next?

I use it primarily as a hi-res 2-track recorder - it replaced my DAT as a mixdown machine.

The on-board DSP functions can be useful, but that's not why you'd buy the unit....

It's best use is as a convenient high-resolution, stand-alone (read no computer boot-up or integration to worry about), 2-track recorder.

I appreciate your reply and.....

I dont' want to be a smart-ass but here was my question.