Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: Alesis 3632 Buzzing Problem

  1. #11
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Alright here is my full setup with links to the gear so you can see the specs.

    By the way I seriously appreciate the help you're all giving

    Gear:

    Behringer XENYX 802

    Behringer: XENYX 802

    M-Audio Fast Track

    Amazon.com: M-Audio Fast Track USB 2 Computer Audio Interface: Musical Instruments

    Alesis 3632 Compressor

    3632 Compressor Dual Channel Compressor / Limiter / Gate

    Furman M-8x2 Power Condidtioner

    http://www.amazon.com/Furman-M-8x2-M.../dp/B003BQ91Y6

    Rain Event Mini computer system

    Rain Computers Event Mini Audio Computer | Musician's Friend

  2. #12
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0
    And here is a little YouTube I just made of the setup My recording setup - YouTube

    And here is the buzzing sound I'm getting http://soundcloud.com/byrongore/loud...my-alesis-3632
    Last edited by byrongore; 09-18-2012 at 17:49.

  3. #13
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0
    Alright. I just did another test with the buzzing sound. It's all silent until I open up any recording application. If I click on the window sound recorder the buzzing starts. As soon as I close it the buzzing stops. The same with Pro Tools. As soon as it starts to load the buzzing starts. And the same with Cubase. I'm monitoring the sound at all times via my fast track direct monitor function. Maybe it's a computer setting causing the buzzing?

  4. #14
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,689
    Rep Power
    21474857
    If you're using the direct monitor function then that rules out the PC and any software, theoretically.

    Direct monitor lets you hear exactly what's coming into the interface in real time.
    The point of it is that there's near zero latency, because there's no software processing taking place.

    Plug in your interface only and enable direct monitoring. You may have to have recording software open to do this.
    Plug in a guitar (or even just a lead and tap the tip of it) to test that you're really hearing any direct input.
    If you hear your guitar, or the cable buzz, then unplug it....It's time to start process of elimination.



    If the buzz is not present with nothing plugged in, add the mixer to your setup.
    If it's still not present, plug a mic into the mixer,
    If it's still not present, add the compressor.

    Do it all 'live' so that you can hear exactly what piece of gear is introducing the buzz.

    We can guess, but really only you can prove what's causing the problem.


    I'd guess that any normal or acceptable buzz/hum would be accentuated by the fact that you're plugging line level devices into a instrument level input.
    The instrument level input is looking for a quieter signal that line level would be, and therefore is amplifying more that it needs to.
    That means buzz that you never notice will become more apparent, but still, I don't think it should be really obtrusive.

    Let us know how you get on, yeah?
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?

  5. #15
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks again for the reply. Yes after trying everything one by one it only buzzes when the compressor is added to the mix. As soon as it's plugged in. I'm also trying to work out what cables I should be using. Still.. It doesn't buzz on my laptop only the PC.

    Right now I have it set up like this. I have the Input of the compressor plugged into the FX Send of the mixer and the output plugged into the Left AUX return. The only problem I have is that I have the mixer going out into my little Fast Track via the CTRL Room out left. I'm not using any insert cables. Just regular 1/4' cables apart from one balanced 3 foot 1/4' running from the output of the compressor to the AUX return of the mixer.

    At a guess they are probably not the best choice of cables? Oh and I only have the left channel of the compressor plugged into the mixer. I never thought that hooking up recording hardware would be so difficult lol

  6. #16
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,689
    Rep Power
    21474857
    No problem.
    I didn't see your video until today. Thanks for posting it.

    Too much stuff is wrong dude. :P
    Since your using the guitar input on the maudio (not balanced), none of this really matters,
    but Ideally you wouldn't combine mixer L+R outputs like that.

    You'd probably be better just using one straight cable from cd/tape left to fast track input,
    or better yet, from main output to fast track input then just pan any use channels to the left.


    I don't know if your effects send + return are balanced or not, but if they're not then your compressor isn't seeing a balanced signal, no matter what cables you use.

    My guess is this is what's happening, and the compressor doesn't like being underneath a power conditioner+screen.

    Try moving all audio devices and cables away from all power supplies/transformers/laptops/computers etc.


    The reply on your youtube channel echoes my point about level mismatches.
    A guitar input being unbalanced could easily be the source of this whole problem but I understand people can't just buy gear left, right and centre, so try moving stuff around like I described.
    Last edited by Steenamaroo; 09-20-2012 at 05:17.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?

  7. #17
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks again man!

    OK I'm gonna look at a new setup as far as the room goes. I don't have a rack mounting (not yet anyway) I now have the Main out going into the Fast Track. Still buzzing of course. I really really wish I still had my Tascam. It had all the Line inputs. I still find it strange that only the PC gives the buzzing and not the laptop even with the same setup. Maybe with a re adjustment it will help reduce it. I will let ya know and then post a new set up vid. Thanks again!

  8. #18
    bouldersoundguy is offline Modulator
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    4,454
    Rep Power
    11016700
    Simple solution: ditch the 3630. It's a notoriously crappy compressor and you can get better sound and more versatility with any decent plugin. If you are having trouble with clipping your inputs then turn down the preamp gain.

  9. #19
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    11,689
    Rep Power
    21474857
    Quote Originally Posted by bouldersoundguy View Post
    Simple solution: ditch the 3630. It's a notoriously crappy compressor and you can get better sound and more versatility with any decent plugin. If you are having trouble with clipping your inputs then turn down the preamp gain.
    It's a 3632, but I don't know first hand if that's much better or not.

    Byron, It doesn't surprise me at all that this problem is unique to one computer.
    The noise you're hearing is generated by your computer.

    Like I say, the reason it's getting into your audio stream is most likely because your compressor is too close to power conditioner and screen, and/or you're not working with a balanced system.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?

  10. #20
    bouldersoundguy is offline Modulator
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    4,454
    Rep Power
    11016700
    Quote Originally Posted by Steenamaroo View Post
    It's a 3632, but I don't know first hand if that's much better or not.
    Thanks for pointing that out. I don't think it changes the basic idea that unless you have a pretty special compressor you're going to be better off doing it with a plugin.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Alesis 3632 Compressor Review- by Steven Williams
    By Chater-La in forum The Rack
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2012, 18:31
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 11:55
  3. Alesis Multimix8 USB Audio Buzzing in winamp
    By SrA_Flyboy21 in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 00:13
  4. buzzing with alesis ineko
    By tmartin92 in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-28-2003, 00:02
  5. Alesis MEQ Buzzing
    By Hard2Hear in forum The Rack
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-13-2001, 10:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!