Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Alesis 3632 Buzzing Problem

  1. #1
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Alesis 3632 Buzzing Problem

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Hey everyone. I'm still a n00b at setting up a home studio. I bought a 3632 Compressor and I have a Balanced shielded cable running from the output in the back into the guitar jack in the front of my Fast Track. There is a terrible buzzing sound. I went out and bought a Furman Power Conditioner in the hope that would solve the problem. But no joy. The buzz is still there as loud as ever. Is it the way I have set it up that's causing the problem? I don't wanna have to go out and spend even more money on even more equipment just to get this compressor up and running. I've been searching everywhere for the answer but I'm yet to find one. I appreciate any help you can give me on this as I really want to get a nice clean recording. I do have a soundcloud upload of the buzzing but I'm unable to post URL's until I have made 10 posts.

  2. #2
    witzendoz's Avatar
    witzendoz is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Fremantle, Australia
    Age
    57
    Posts
    3,702
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    10045727
    The output of the compressor is designed to plug into a line input not a guitar input. What is plugged into the compressor input?

    Alan

  3. #3
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    12,052
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 20 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    Witz is right. Rack compressors are (almost?) always designed to take line level inputs and give line level outputs.

    You wouldn't want to plug a guitar or mic straight into this compressor, nor would you want to plug the compressor into a guitar or microphone level input.

    Unless you're compressing something with a line level output, like a keyboard or active instrument, you'll want to place the compressor in a line level effects loop.
    Look for send + return on the back of your fast track; What model do you have?

    Hope that helps.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?
    Quarantine the idiots! - Show some support!

  4. #4
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Thanks guys.

    My fast track has line outputs left and right that are being used with my M-Audio BX58 speakers. . All it has on the front are as follows. XLR input and one half inch input for guitar. The back only has the USA port and the line outputs.

    My Behringer has an FX send but no return.

  5. #5
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Here ya go.

    Specs on the Fast Track:

    Features:

    2-input, 2-output audio interface
    Compatible with most popular recording software including Pro Tools M-Powered 8 and GarageBand
    24-bit/48kHz professional sound quality
    Plug-and-play USB connection (USB 2.0 compatible)
    XLR microphone input with gain control and 48V phantom power
    1/4" instrument input with gain control
    1/4" stereo headphone output
    RCA stereo speaker outputs
    Output level knob for adjusting volume of headphones and speaker outputs
    Direct monitoring button
    Powered by USB—no power adapter required

  6. #6
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Alan. The Behringer is plugged into the Compressors Input from the CD/Tape output left and right. I forget the name of the cable. The one with the red and white Male ends and a 1/4' male end going into the compressors input. and I have the 1/4" output from the compressor going into the 1/4" guitar input on the fast track.

  7. #7
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Alright. Now I'm connected this way. FX send form the Behringer is going into the the compressors input using a shielded 3 foot 1/4' cable. The output of the compressor is running into the right stereo Aux Return in on the mixer. Again this is a shielded cable but it is much longer. Maybe 10 or 15 foot. It works but I still have the buzzing. The buzzing isn't there when I plug it into my lap top. Only through my Rain Event Mini Computer System. Oh and again everything it powered through my Furman Power Conditioner.

  8. #8
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    12,052
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 20 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    Wait, there's a behringer??Where did that come from?

    Ultimately, your audio interface isn't designed to take line inputs.

    Unless your behringer is a usb mixer, you've got some mismatched gear.


    Ideally you'd have an audio interface with line outputs/effects loop for the compressor,
    or you'd use your mixer as the front end with the compressor in its effects loop, then feed the mixer's final output to line inputs of an audio interface.

    Does that make sense?
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?
    Quarantine the idiots! - Show some support!

  9. #9
    byrongore's Avatar
    byrongore is offline Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Steenamaroo View Post
    Wait, there's a behringer??Where did that come from?

    Ultimately, your audio interface isn't designed to take line inputs.

    Unless your behringer is a usb mixer, you've got some mismatched gear.


    Ideally you'd have an audio interface with line outputs/effects loop for the compressor,
    or you'd use your mixer as the front end with the compressor in its effects loop, then feed the mixer's final output to line inputs of an audio interface.

    Does that make sense?

    Makes sense. I have put the compressor through the effects loop on the mixer. But the mixer has no where else to plug in apart from the 1/4" input on the front of the fast track. My system did come with an 8 input Tascam. But I swapped it for this Fast Track because the Tascam had an issue with windows. It had a really bad memory leak that was unfixable. I bet that had all the input I needed for this :/ Lets see.. When I have made 10 posts I can just post a picture of my setup.. Cheers guys!

  10. #10
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    29
    Posts
    12,052
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 20 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    21474858
    Unfortunately the 1/4" input on the fast track is designed for instrument level, so it's far from ideal.
    That being said, it should work, but I definitely wouldn't recommend it in the long term.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grawlf View Post
    That's a tad too much terminology. What do you mean by 'mix'?
    Quarantine the idiots! - Show some support!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Alesis 3632 Compressor Review- by Steven Williams
    By Chater-La in forum The Rack
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2012, 18:31
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 11:55
  3. Alesis Multimix8 USB Audio Buzzing in winamp
    By SrA_Flyboy21 in forum Digital Recording & Computers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2010, 00:13
  4. buzzing with alesis ineko
    By tmartin92 in forum TASCAM User Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-28-2003, 00:02
  5. Alesis MEQ Buzzing
    By Hard2Hear in forum The Rack
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-13-2001, 10:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!