Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Adats for a/d converter

  1. #1
    dnel57 is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Adats for a/d converter

    Sign in to disable this ad
    Call me old,but,I have an adat recording studio which gives people what they want and are happy with.
    Just because they came up with new methods,doesn't mean adats all of a sudden sound like crap.

    I bought an adat which only has 135 hrs on it.
    It is displaying err7.
    Heads should not need cleaning after only 135 hrs.
    The previous owner used it only as an a/d converter and not recording to tape.

    I saw another adat on ebay,that has err7.
    Again,that person used it solely as a n a/d converter.
    He says he had the heads cleaned and still shows err7.
    Question:
    Does anyone know if using an adat for a/d converter(no tape use at all)can damage the heads?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Steenamaroo's Avatar
    Steenamaroo is offline Honorary Old Fart.
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    U.K.
    Age
    28
    Posts
    10,779
    Rep Power
    21474855
    Hi there,
    Have you seen this thread?

    Also, where in the world are you?
    Not Me - > Pete Gardiner - Six String Love Stories - Buy it here or read a review here.

  3. #3
    snus is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    102
    Rep Power
    0
    There is no way I would ever trust the transports on the old ADAT's in a commercial enterprise. But, using them as A/D/A converters is no problem!

    Idler Wheel seemed to be the most common problem with them. I learned to replace mine and never had any other problems.

  4. #4
    mixsit is offline Been Here, Posted That
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    ArizonaMaybe
    Age
    64
    Posts
    7,259
    Rep Power
    7700983
    Quote Originally Posted by dnel57 View Post
    Question:
    Does anyone know if using an adat for a/d converter(no tape use at all)can damage the heads?
    Thanks
    It's been a while- but would you even need a tape to pass the signals through? (I'm pretty sure you could get levels out w/o having it wrapped' and in pause? Certainly you wouldn't want it if it's just there as a converter-
    Why do you love them so much? Because, they stand on a wall and say nothing is going to harm you tonight, not on my watch.

  5. #5
    dnel57 is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0
    Sorry for not clarifying that my intention is to use them for recording not as converters.
    But 135 hours sounds pretty low for err7 unless using them as converters affects the heads somehow??
    Doesn't make sense to me,but,this makes two that I know of with that same problem,and,they were both only used as a/d converters,not recording to tape.
    I appreciate your answers,thanks

  6. #6
    Track Rat's Avatar
    Track Rat is offline Dungeon Studio
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Ballwin, Mo. USA
    Age
    56
    Posts
    12,515
    Rep Power
    16929214
    Just using them as converters won't do anything to the heads. I have two ADATs that I use as converters only in front of a MOTU 2408mkII where my band practices. They work just fine in that capacity but I'd NEVER try to track to tape on them ever again.

  7. #7
    snus is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    102
    Rep Power
    0
    I would say that instead of trying to fix your current adat's, invest that money into a computer interface that can utilize them and record direct to the computer. You are still giving people what they want, but also capable of giving them so much more! Recording direct to digital tape these days really just doesn't make any sense!

  8. #8
    dnel57 is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    ADATs

    Thanks for the input.
    I can go directly to my pc in my studio.
    The reason I still use ADATs beside the fact that I like them is
    I do live,on site, recording,and,to my (limited)knowledge,
    you cannot record 16 individually separate,editable, tracks
    to a computer simultaneously.
    Track by track on a computer is great.Also the cut and paste
    and copy capabilities are helpful.
    I'm sure the day will come that there will somehow be multiple
    two channel inputs on a pc.
    But,by that time,there will be some new way that everyone will flock to
    and pc recording will be deemed crap just like they did with the ADATs.
    Thanks again for your info.
    Happy tracking

  9. #9
    snus is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    102
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by dnel57 View Post
    Thanks for the input.
    I can go directly to my pc in my studio.
    The reason I still use ADATs beside the fact that I like them is
    I do live,on site, recording,and,to my (limited)knowledge,
    you cannot record 16 individually separate,editable, tracks
    to a computer simultaneously.
    Track by track on a computer is great.Also the cut and paste
    and copy capabilities are helpful.
    I'm sure the day will come that there will somehow be multiple
    two channel inputs on a pc.
    But,by that time,there will be some new way that everyone will flock to
    and pc recording will be deemed crap just like they did with the ADATs.
    Thanks again for your info.
    Happy tracking
    Well, 8 years ago, I was recording 24 tracks direct to a PC with a MOTU interface using ADAT's as the converters. If anything, that track count could be WAY higher! My old computer was actually capable of recording over 64 tracks at once. With the newer SATA hard drives, I would say you could easily double that!

  10. #10
    snus is offline Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    102
    Rep Power
    0
    In fact, here is the first song of that recording. All 24 tracks recording at once. Motu 2408 mkII to a AMD Athlon XP PC using ATA-66 hard drive.

    http://www.sonusman.com/mp3/FordBros.mp3

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. adats?
    By noOneyuNo in forum Newbies
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-14-2010, 18:59
  2. 2 adats
    By dragonworks in forum Free Ads for Music/Recording Equipment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-28-2005, 15:00
  3. FD-4 to Adats?
    By Geeman in forum Fostex Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-09-2001, 18:10
  4. ADATs
    By Magnum Pi in forum Alesis Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 11-27-2000, 19:15
  5. ADATS!!!!!! PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!
    By CJWalker in forum Alesis Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-17-2000, 20:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Special 93% Offer

Got beats? Samples? Mixing and mastering services? Get a head start with this 93% OFF special offer!