What DAWs are you using and why?

Towel3566

Hi there!
I'm working on a personal project, which has led me to become curious about what DAWs you guys are using, and what exactly made you choose them over everything else that's available today.
For that reason I've made a little survey, that I would really appreciate if you answered:
Survey
Thanks in advance!

For me, it is Reaper. Free until the trial ends, then it is $60 for the personal account. Pro level costs more. I love this DAW. I used Cakewalk for years, and so much has changed not only with Cakewalk but all DAWs. Reaper is so cool, it is all I need at the moment. It supports VST plugings, iVST, etc. and has a very user-friendly interface. I can't speak about other DAWs than the two I mentioned, as I have very little experience with them. Reaper is a good place to start, and maybe continue with if you are interested.

I've always found 'DAW' a tricky thing. Production is quite different to editing and perhaps different again to mastering, yet we seem to use DAW to mean the software rather than on the machine. So for me, when I did the survey it was tricky - because I use Cubase to produce, but in the studio, Sound Forge to edit and do some processes. On another computer (in my video studio) I use Audition more often because although Cubase is on it, Sound Forge is not. So I use Audition, but prefer Sound Forge - but it does the job. I've been happy to use Audacity sometimes. So in my studios, the 'DAW' is not just one piece of software but quite a few.

Like Rob, "DAW" for me is a bit of a misnomer in some ways because it's to do with the machine as well as the software ~ if there is any.