Tips for my new song (Billy Joel - Piano man cover)

Piano-Hits

Hi all,

Today I created a new song. Piano man, a cover of Billy Joel.
A month ago, I asked on this forum some tips for the song Evanescence - My Immortal (Thread) and used this tips for my new song. I'm pretty happy with the result, but I'm just a beginner, and probably you will hear some things which can be better. Can you give me some advice for this cover? What can I improve?

Soundcloud: Click

A few things that I noticed....

There are points where the vocal does a weird movement in the soundstage. Its as if the the voice is just right of center and suddenly shifts to the left, and then back. If it was on tape, I would say you had a dropout. It was obvious when you sing "now Paul is a real estate.." and "and he's talking with Daisy". Did you record it with two mics and move your head? That's almost what it sounds like to me.

I think things would sound better with a bit more reverb. It pretty dry to me. I like dry when it's intimate, like someone sitting on the couch with an acoustic guitar. That's a small instrument. A piano isn't a small instrument most of the time, especially if you are trying to do a grand. It usually takes a pretty decent size room.

I'm not a piano player, but something that I noticed is that you really don't seem to use the sustain pedal. That's more of a player technique than a recording technique, but it seems to be missing. We have a really good pianist at church and I've sat there watching how she works the pedals on that grand piano. Occasionally we have someone fill in, and I can tell immediately when the sub just plays the keys and not the pedals. The notes are there, but the soul is missing.