Sterile or austere sound recording??

k1enneth

I am new to digital recording. I am using Focusrite 2I2 plus GarageBand for my first attempt (previously used Tascam 4I4 tape). I laid down only 3 instruments Bass guitar, Electric guitar with the digital amps in garageband, and drum track from garageband. Just an instrumental type test track. When I listen back to it, the tracks sound so....clinical. Like it's missing white noise or tape hiss or a richness or fullness. I would like to get these simple 3 tracks to sound "fuller" or "richer" before proceeding. Any assistance would be helpful. Thanks and Happy New Year!

I am new to digital recording. I am using Focusrite 2I2 plus GarageBand for my first attempt (previously used Tascam 4I4 tape). I laid down only 3 instruments Bass guitar, Electric guitar with the digital amps in garageband, and drum track from garageband. Just an instrumental type test track. When I listen back to it, the tracks sound so....clinical. Like it's missing white noise or tape hiss or a richness or fullness. I would like to get these simple 3 tracks to sound "fuller" or "richer" before proceeding. Any assistance would be helpful. Thanks and Happy New Year!
I still use GB occasionally for quick acoustic rough draft stuff...
Post an MP3.

You're comparing a digital system that will be pretty much flat from 20-20k at all levels from -90dB to -0.1dB to a cassette system that would be relatively flat to about 18-20k at -20dB but will roll off around 12-14kHz when you approach 0dB, and will really be down 10dB or more at 6-8kHz if you to +5 or so. If you were recording, it wasn't uncommon to record "in the red" to get the best S/N but at the expense of top end response. That's where you get your "fat" sound. Fewer highs and distortion that "smears" the music, making things sound blended. Your 414 spec'd at 40-10kHz +/- 3dB. Your digital system is probably around 20-20k +/- 0.2dB. Channel crosstalk was 40dB. Now it's 90dB.