Signal Chain Help - UA710/RNC/PRO24DSP

BigEZ

The Devil Has Blue Eyes
Hi All,

So I've got my pre-amp (UA 710), my tracking compressor (FMR RNC), and my audio interface (Focusrite PRO24DSP). How do you recommend I set them up? Pre to comp to interface? Pre to interface with comp on a sidechain? Also, what kind of cables would you recommend to connect each?

This is my first time using a bit more advanced equipment so I thought I would seek some advice from more advanced members before setting up.

Thanks,

ROK

I'd record straight from the pre to the interface without the RNC and add compression later if needed.

Thanks. About cabling...the interface has mic pre's on it as well and the UA pre only has XLR out. Should I connect with an XLR to XLR cable or should I use XLR to 1/4" to bypass the pre on the interface?

About the compressor, I've read a couple books (Guerilla Home Recording and The Mixing Engineers Handbook) and they suggest using a touch of compression on the original signal. This is why I purchased the RNC because in Super Nice mode it will do it's job but be very transparent. Having said that...hypothetically speaking, should I run the RNC as a sidechain on the interface or go UA to RNC to interface?

Thanks again for your help.

You'd want to bypass the pres on the interface with a XLR > TRS cable and use the line input on the interface.

If you run it as a sidechain what would you be using as the key input? Sidechaining compressors is used mainly for voiceovers to duck the program material for the voiceover. There are other uses, such as using a kick drum as the key input to sidechain a bass line or synth or other. I guess you could experiment and see what gives you the result you are after.

The thing about compressing your input is once you've recorded the compressed the signal you're stuck with that result.

You might want to look up parallel compression too and consider that form of use for the RNC.