RME Fireface 800 or Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56

crimson_basser

Hello all, I have an interface question for you guys.
Ive been running a Presonus Firestudio Project for a few years and Im looking to upgrade,
specifically in preamp quality, conversion and performance as far as clocking, stability etc.

Ive basically narrowed down my choices to two units, the Fireface 800 and Liquid 56.
Ive read reviews of both, checked them out all over the web etc, I've done my research,
I know the features each offer. I know that RME is considered better overall, in terms of
conversion and preamp quality on paper.. but does it translate into real world results?

My questions are:

1. Do the preamps in these units compare?
(Important for right now)

2. Is the conversion quality in the RME really THAT much better than the Focusrite?

3. Is there any real difference in the speed and stability of each unit, or their drivers?
(Important for longevity of the unit, with future hardware upgrades)

The prices aren't too far off, but does the couple hundred more for the Fireface justify the
higher quality they boast? Would I really be getting a much better deal for the money?

If the RME is the clear winner in all of this, it does leave me with one issue. The number of mic preamps.
I've been using my 8 input Firestudio and really like being able to adequately mic a drum kit. With the RME
I would be limited to 4 pre's, meaning that I would have to get a few pre's to make up for it.
(Which would require a whole other thread to itself).

With that increased cost, does the Fireface still stand out as the clear winner?
Or am I better off with the Saffire 56, getting just as good results, with all my inputs in one.

Obviously, there will be an upgrade to everything at some point down the line. Outboard pre's, converters etc
are all on the list for the next yearish or so. So that does play into my choice as well. I want a fast and stable unit