Recording the room

ex351d

I have noticed that a lot of people when record drums record the room and this gives a lot of punch and fullness to the snare drum. I would like to get this sound but I am new to recording. There are a lot of mixed ideas on the internet how to get this done. I would like to get a basic idea how to approach this method.

My setup is as follows: I have 2 SDC for overheads, just enough dynamic mics for close micing the drums. Also, I got 2 different LDC I was not going to use on drums. The LDC are sE Electronics X1 and Blue Bluebird.

What I would like to know is should I go mono or stereo to record the room. If stereo, should I use spaced pair or Mid-Side? Furthermore, what microphones would you suggest using for this application? As there are a lot of different ideas such as Shure green bullet, SM57, LDCs and ribbons.

How many mic preamps/inputs do you have on yoru audio interface? Does the rooms sound good? (acoustic treatment)

Yes, I do have acoustic treatment, however, I do not have sound isolation. I have an 8 channel interface. Using 2 for the overheads and another 4 for close mics of a 4 piece drum kit, thus, I have 2 free channels.

The short answer is that there's on one right way. Every room will sound different, and what works for one person may not work for you. You've obviously read up on it a bit, so I'd suggest throwing some mics up and trying out a few ideas that you've read about to see what it sounds like. Move/change the mics, try again. Shampoo, rinse, repeat. Good luck!

I've been hanging a mic up high in the hall (not a hallway' more like a junction) between the 'drum room and john/bedrooms. Started with a EV 635 -ok, so so. Went to one of the omni caps on the little Audix M44's. (Not that that mic mattered, but the extended low end did make a big difference over the 635.
Works very effective, use it about thirty or forty percent of the mixes.
..add. You can also delay them to get some extra mileage.